Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was fantastic! The only thing I will change the next time I make this is I will chop up the basil leaves. The reason being is that whenever you took a spoon of soup, these long wilted strips of basil just hung off your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie B.
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is delicious! I have made it several times. The most requested is the soup with cheese tortellini mixed in. Very hearty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a good basic soup. I did feel it needed some more seasoning so I added salt, pepper and onion powder. I also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar to tone down the acidity. I think next time I might try omitting the butter to see if it is really needed. I served it over a bowl of rice. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Tastes flat: rich, but flat. I was looking for recipe similar to Jason's Deli, but this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Delish! I made a couple of changes but used same basic recipe. I added 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp oregano. I also substituted canned tomato juice over cocktail juice and lowered fat content by using fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream. It was wonderful served with hot sourdough toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Our favorite restaurant has this soup and we order it all the time. I decided to make it myself at home. I found this recipe and made it today. It was EXCELLENT! A big hit and very easy to make!! Thanks so much Caramommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe! I was amazed it was so quick and easy. It tastes just like the Tomato Basil soup served in upscale shops. I tweaked a little, but didn't change the basic recipe. I added 1 tsp sugar, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp oregano. I used spicy V-8 juice as well. Before heating, I pureed the tomatoes, V-8 juice, broth and basil in a blender for 1-2 minutes. Then, I cooked the soup according to the recipe. Fantastic! Even my picky kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious!!! I wanted to find a Tomato Basil Soup that was comprable to Schlotzky's and I found one that's better!!! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone in my family loved it, even my 2 year old cousin couldn't get enough! A little mozarella cheese on top is a yummy garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Incredible recipe! I tripled it to take to my son's school and I was blown away by how easy and tasty this recipe is! Several people asked for the recipe and one is making it for a tailgate this weekend! The only thing I changed was to add some minced garlic. I used homemade chicken stock (only because I had some frozen) so I needed to add a little salt as well. I may cut back a bit on the cream and butter next time, just to save calories. Fabulous -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States