Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I thought the soup was really delicious. Only thing i did different was add a lil sugar, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Oh, and I eused half the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaM.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this was so easy, and tasted great. made as recipe called. next time I make, will reduce the amount of cream, completely due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was wonderful.freezes great too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Yum! I modified it to make it healthier and it was still wonderful! (I know, I know, that's a crime, but I have health problems that make it a necessity!) I used 2 cups of 2% milk, and only half the butter. I also added a small can of tomato paste, which made it have a much richer tomato flavor. I also used veggie broth because the hubby is vegetarian. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This soup was really easy to make! I made a few changes. I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes because I didn't have crushed tomatoes or juice. I used dried basil as well. I didn't use cream. To thicken the soup I roasted 3 carrots and used sweet potato. I also added onion and celery. I also roasted and added 3 red peppers. I put everything in the food processor. It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMullins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this for a couple of friends and we all found it to be a bit blan, I don't think i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Used plain tomato juice instead of V8. Added 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. brown sugar. Very good without pureeing. Nice rich flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was my first attempt at tomato soup and I'm a sucker for easy recipes. The consistency was perfect, but it was kind of bland. I just added alot of black pepper, some garlic powder and it turned out really good. I love tomato soup and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
OK but didn't have a whole lot of flavor and it just wasn't what I expected. I did follow the recipe exactly but it just needs something more. My family ate it but their comments included, "Campbell's is better" and "Don't save this recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup was delicious! I substituted a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes for the tomato juice and added one large clove of garlic and then pureed it. I then cooled and refrigerated it overnight and took it camping and added in the cream and butter after it was simmering over the camp stove. I served it with a little bit of shredded cheese and everyone devoured it! It was a chilly night at camp and this really hit the spot. My boyfriend is begging me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States