Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Super easy to make and very delicious. I love to play in the kitchen trying new recipes. My sons and I have a tradition when I present something new to try. If we like it, it's worthy of our "Hall of Recipes", which is essentially my recipe box:). If not, the recipe gets tossed. I admit, I tweaked this a tiny bit. Here it goes: sautéed garlic with butter first and the added the other ingredients along with salt, pepper, garlic powder a dash of cayenne and a packet of stevia in the raw sweetener (to smooth out the bitterness). Added extra basil chopped, not cut into thin strips, as I didn't want to have strands of basil floating around. Also, I used a can of vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Thanks so much for this recipe. It has entered our hall:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Crespin Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Very quick and easy to make. Delicious recipe. Fresh basil is a must. I added some gorgonzola cheese at the end and serve it with French bread on the side. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This is the BEST tomato basil soup ever! You gotta make this one. Stores well in fridge and heating up for leftovers is a breeze. I make this all winter long. It's a big hit with our family and is becoming our new comfort food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riv969

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooker101
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This soup was amazing!! I only made a few tweaks and that was to add some salt, pepper, oregano and to make it a little thicker kept it on the stove for 15 more minutes after I mixed everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
My wife and I loved this recipe! It's the nearest we've found to that tomato basil soup served at our favorite Italian restaurant. And so simple to make! Per another reviewer's suggestion, we added about a tablespoon of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Best tomato soup out there. I have been making this for years know, and everyone always loves it. I follow the recipe pretty closely but have incorporated some of the recommended changes by other members. I usually get a bowl of tomato soup in a restaurant just to compare to this recipe. This one always wins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. So easy and flavorful. I doubled the recipe the second time around and put some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My mom made this for me when I was healing from my c-section. She reduced the peanut butter as recommended in other reviews. I could still taste the p.b., which wasn't necessarily bad. Nonetheless, I didn't love this recipe. It was okay. I'll look for another recipe for tomato basil soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Make this soup all the time and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is SO good! I'm going to try putting ravioli in it next time. It tastes a lot like the ravioli Ricatoni at the namesake restaurant in Florence, AL. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States