Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cooker101
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This soup was amazing!! I only made a few tweaks and that was to add some salt, pepper, oregano and to make it a little thicker kept it on the stove for 15 more minutes after I mixed everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
My wife and I loved this recipe! It's the nearest we've found to that tomato basil soup served at our favorite Italian restaurant. And so simple to make! Per another reviewer's suggestion, we added about a tablespoon of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Best tomato soup out there. I have been making this for years know, and everyone always loves it. I follow the recipe pretty closely but have incorporated some of the recommended changes by other members. I usually get a bowl of tomato soup in a restaurant just to compare to this recipe. This one always wins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. So easy and flavorful. I doubled the recipe the second time around and put some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My mom made this for me when I was healing from my c-section. She reduced the peanut butter as recommended in other reviews. I could still taste the p.b., which wasn't necessarily bad. Nonetheless, I didn't love this recipe. It was okay. I'll look for another recipe for tomato basil soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Make this soup all the time and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is SO good! I'm going to try putting ravioli in it next time. It tastes a lot like the ravioli Ricatoni at the namesake restaurant in Florence, AL. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This soup was great. I followed the recipe exactly how it is and it was wonderful. I don't understand some of the comments stating it was bland. I used Hunts crushed tomatoes, can of Campbell's tomato juice concentrate and fresh basil and it was full of flavor with the ingredients. Best soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The best tomato soup ever. I don't even like tomato soup but a local restaurant sells one that they serve in a bread bowl-tried it because of that bread bowl. I decided to make a batch for a potluck. (I liked this one because I thought the cream would cut down the acidic nature of tomatoes.) I toasted a loaf of French bread with a butter garlic sauce then dipped it in the soup. My coworkers lifted the crock pot and scraped out every drop and ate every crumb of the bread! I making some now (without butter and cream) with homegrown basil and tomatoes to can for the winter. I will add butter and cream when I'm ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Vanco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is so good and so easy! I didn't change a thing, but did sprinkle some Parmesan on top for a little extra yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States