Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
OK but didn't have a whole lot of flavor and it just wasn't what I expected. I did follow the recipe exactly but it just needs something more. My family ate it but their comments included, "Campbell's is better" and "Don't save this recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup was delicious! I substituted a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes for the tomato juice and added one large clove of garlic and then pureed it. I then cooled and refrigerated it overnight and took it camping and added in the cream and butter after it was simmering over the camp stove. I served it with a little bit of shredded cheese and everyone devoured it! It was a chilly night at camp and this really hit the spot. My boyfriend is begging me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
i loved this. i did add garlic, minced and pureed it also for a very smooth taste on the tongue. My kids love this with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was fantastic! The only thing I will change the next time I make this is I will chop up the basil leaves. The reason being is that whenever you took a spoon of soup, these long wilted strips of basil just hung off your spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie B. Hall-Klicinski
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is delicious! I have made it several times. The most requested is the soup with cheese tortellini mixed in. Very hearty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a good basic soup. I did feel it needed some more seasoning so I added salt, pepper and onion powder. I also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar to tone down the acidity. I think next time I might try omitting the butter to see if it is really needed. I served it over a bowl of rice. My family really enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Tastes flat: rich, but flat. I was looking for recipe similar to Jason's Deli, but this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Delish! I made a couple of changes but used same basic recipe. I added 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp oregano. I also substituted canned tomato juice over cocktail juice and lowered fat content by using fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream. It was wonderful served with hot sourdough toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Our favorite restaurant has this soup and we order it all the time. I decided to make it myself at home. I found this recipe and made it today. It was EXCELLENT! A big hit and very easy to make!! Thanks so much Caramommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States