Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This soup is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exact with the exception of adding just a little shredded mozzarella at the end as a garnish. It was the best tomato cream soup I've ever had. The basil really shines and the cream is perfect. Love! Love! Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe was ok. I needed to make a lot of adjustments. The cream was way too much and turned this into a creamy tomato basil soup instead of a tradtional tomato soup. I found it a bit bland and needed to use additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinn Danna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this for a Soup Day lunch @ work and made according to the directions exactly. It truly is a five star recipe. Everyone raved about it being restaurant quality soup. I did doubled the recipe. If you make it don't change a thing!!! Thanks Rachel for such a fine soup:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This soup is amazing. I doubled the entire recipe but halved the amt of cream (half & half) and butter. As mentioned by other reviewers I added some garlic powder, garlic flakes, onion flakes, curry and brown sugar. I usually only eat tomato soup when i'm dipping a grilled cheese in it, but this soup can definitely stand on it's own. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I make this EXACTLY as stated with the butter. I then blend it up in my vitamix for 30 seconds and it is PERFECT! My husband told me to never buy the pre-made soups again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this for a ladies luncheon and we all LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very good base recipe. I did modify quite a bit just to be sure it was delish. Sauteed finely chopped onion and garlic before adding the puree. Also added a little bit of finely grated carrot and 1 teaspoon of sugar. I didn't have cream, so I substituted canned evaporated milk. Oh, also chopped up a handful of spinach leaves. Yumm-o and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I thought the soup was really delicious. Only thing i did different was add a lil sugar, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Oh, and I eused half the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaM.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
this was so easy, and tasted great. made as recipe called. next time I make, will reduce the amount of cream, completely due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was wonderful.freezes great too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States