Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is a very tasty soup and very close to the flavor I was trying to replicate! I do agree with other reviewers, though, that 1 T. brown sugar is an essential addition to this recipe. Thanks for sharing, CARAMOMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Used home-canned tomatoes and basil from my garden. This was the best homemade tomato soup I've ever made. Easy, too. Even my daughter, who doesn't like tomato soup, ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I'm rating this based on the original recipe, but will tell you how to make it a 4 star. Day one we found this soup to be bland, boring and uninspiring. Day two it had a more intense flavor, but still lacking. I had made some pesto (All Recipes Spinach Basil Pesto) and put a dollop into my bowl of soup and then it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Really good and my 4 year old loved it. I used spicy V8 & dried basil because that is what I had. Will definatly make again. Only gave 4 stars because it had a bit more cream than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetee830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great basic tomatoe soup recipe! Then one can add spices & such as health, taste and preference dictates. We love left overs so doubled it. Added more basil & garlic powder. Blended & added my own bottled stewed tomatoes that have seasonings, celery & onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I sauteed some finely chopped fresh garlic and onion (with some fresh ground pepper and salt) in the butter, then added the rest of the ingredients. I did not use the full amount of cream, just a quarter cup was just right for us. We really liked this soup, especially my youngest boy. Watching him eat this soup with grilled cheese was the highlight of my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I have always loved tomato soup. I tasted a creamy tomato basil soup in a restaurant x & loved it. Tried this 1 & it's yummy. & a + it's quick & easy. I didn't have any heavy cream so I put a dolop of sour cream in each bowl...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This soup goes great with grilled cheese sandwiches. You can have this with tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe...definitely a keeper. I used 2 14oz cans of diced tomatoes including one with Jalapeno and that added a nice kick plus I was generous with th basil (using both with Jalapeno would have overpowered the basil too much). I also added 2 tbls of brown sugar to counter the acidity. We both tasted this before and after adding the fats and again found the acidity needed taming. I also made a very flour light roux with the butter and used half and half to help thinken it up slightly. The end result was better than most restaurant versions of this classic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was ABSOLUTELY delicious!!! I did make a small change though. Before adding all of the tomatoes and such, I sauteed half of a chopped onion and a teaspoon of minced garlic. Also, I just put the basil into the food processor and chopped it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States