Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I've made this twice in the past month. So good! and to think before I tried this I hated tomato soup. Even my roommate who didn't care for tomato soup loved this! I make it as is stirring cheddar cheese in before serving. Thank you Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just finished a bowl of this delicious easy soup. I have to admit I'm on the tail end of a very bad cold and left out the cream, since not good for congestion, or my diet. I guess I was reading so many tomato soup recipes that I got confused and sauteed some sweet onions in butter, and then added all the ingredients, except the extra butter and heavy cream. Well my mistake turned out to taste really great. I chopped some garden chives and mixed in too with the garden fresh basil. I did use my food processor and puree with just a few pulses. I'm sure the heavy cream is great...but for those that want to leave it out...still so fresh and delicious tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
We really liked this especially topped with just a little sprinkle of finely shredded cheese. Looked beautiful! I used half and half for the cream as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again and NEVER buying the canned stuff. I recommend only blending half and leaving the other half a little chunky. Reminds me of progressive chunky tomato soup (that I can no longer find in the store???).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
It was a cold Saturday and tomato soup was requested by the family. I choose this recipe and it was a big hit. I did use spicy V8 and some crused red pepper to add a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Excellent flavor (added 1T brown sugar). Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is a very tasty soup and very close to the flavor I was trying to replicate! I do agree with other reviewers, though, that 1 T. brown sugar is an essential addition to this recipe. Thanks for sharing, CARAMOMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Used home-canned tomatoes and basil from my garden. This was the best homemade tomato soup I've ever made. Easy, too. Even my daughter, who doesn't like tomato soup, ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I'm rating this based on the original recipe, but will tell you how to make it a 4 star. Day one we found this soup to be bland, boring and uninspiring. Day two it had a more intense flavor, but still lacking. I had made some pesto (All Recipes Spinach Basil Pesto) and put a dollop into my bowl of soup and then it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Really good and my 4 year old loved it. I used spicy V8 & dried basil because that is what I had. Will definatly make again. Only gave 4 stars because it had a bit more cream than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetee830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States