Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Fresh tomatoes are not always available where I live. Sometimes I can find canned tomatoes, but usually not the kind I need/want for a recipe. I adapted this recipe using 1 (28 oz) can of tomato puree, 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, and 1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste. I first sauted 1/2 diced onion and approx 3 cloves fresh minced garlic in a little olive oil. Next added all the canned tomatoes and simmered for about 20 mins. Next I added the fresh basil and salt and pepper to taste. Pureed all in a food processor then returned the mixture to the pot. I added the cream but no butter and simmered for an additional 10 mins (till heated). Garnished with fresh basil leaves and served with crusty French baguette slices that I broiled in the oven topped with fresh Parmesan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! As others suggested, I left out the milk and butter and it was still delicious. I also added some dill which added some great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was in the mood for grilled cheese and tomato soup today, and was out of condensed. I halved this recipe since it was only for my daughter and me. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so a can of the petite diced tomatoes served as the pinch hitter today. Well, guess what? No fresh basil either, so I used the dried stuff (gasp!). I added spices to my liking and used reviewer suggestions to add brown sugar (used 1 tsp since I was halving the recipe). I used a cup of half & half, as well as a couple ounces of cream cheese. Served with a triple cheese grilled cheese sandwich, I felt like a kid again. If only DD would've felt the same way. Lovely recipe; I look forward to trying this with fresh ingredients next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I've made this twice in the past month. So good! and to think before I tried this I hated tomato soup. Even my roommate who didn't care for tomato soup loved this! I make it as is stirring cheddar cheese in before serving. Thank you Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just finished a bowl of this delicious easy soup. I have to admit I'm on the tail end of a very bad cold and left out the cream, since not good for congestion, or my diet. I guess I was reading so many tomato soup recipes that I got confused and sauteed some sweet onions in butter, and then added all the ingredients, except the extra butter and heavy cream. Well my mistake turned out to taste really great. I chopped some garden chives and mixed in too with the garden fresh basil. I did use my food processor and puree with just a few pulses. I'm sure the heavy cream is great...but for those that want to leave it out...still so fresh and delicious tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
We really liked this especially topped with just a little sprinkle of finely shredded cheese. Looked beautiful! I used half and half for the cream as that is what I had on hand. I will be making this again and NEVER buying the canned stuff. I recommend only blending half and leaving the other half a little chunky. Reminds me of progressive chunky tomato soup (that I can no longer find in the store???).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
It was a cold Saturday and tomato soup was requested by the family. I choose this recipe and it was a big hit. I did use spicy V8 and some crused red pepper to add a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Excellent flavor (added 1T brown sugar). Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is a very tasty soup and very close to the flavor I was trying to replicate! I do agree with other reviewers, though, that 1 T. brown sugar is an essential addition to this recipe. Thanks for sharing, CARAMOMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States