Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I had a ton of tomatoes from Hubs’ garden that I needed to use, so I decided to make a double batch of this recipe. On my kitchen scale I weighed out the equivalent number of ounces of fresh tomatoes that the recipe indicated for canned. I chopped the tomatoes and simmered them as instructed for 30 minutes. I then used my emersion blender to puree the soup. I forced it through a fine sieve to eliminate the skins and seeds and then added the basil, 1/4 t. garlic powder, salt and pepper. Another buzz with the emersion blender and it was ready for the freezer. I generally figure that 1 1/2 cups of soup equals one entrée size serving. My double recipe yielded eight 1 1/2 cup servings. I packaged them two servings per container for the freezer. For each two-serving container, once thawed, I added 1/2 cup of heavy cream. And since my soup was rather thin I made a roux with 1 T. flour and 1T. softened butter (which cut the butter in the recipe in half). I tempered the roux with a little of the hot soup and then added it back to the soup. That helped give the soup some body without making it too thick. We really enjoyed this one and I think it was especially good using Hubs’ wonderful garden tomatoes. I’m delighted we have more waiting in the freezer. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe is great and very versatile. I highly recommend using Cento canned tomatoes...they truly make the dish! I did add 1 tbsp of brown sugar and some salt, black pepper, garlic powder and cayenne to taste. My hubby liked it how it was before the butter and cream, so I just left it like that and added a little butter and cream to my bowl. It was GREAT both ways!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great....could use a little sugar to soften the tomato tartness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I'm not a fan of tomato soup to begin with and didn't care for this at all. My review is based on my husband & three kids who love tomato soup. They all thought this was wonderful! I paired it with the Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich from this site and had a home run! They're already asking when I'll make it again as they're filling their bowls with seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
4.5 Not as good as the fresh tomato soup on this site but much faster and one doesn't have to peel and deseed the tomatoes. Used half and half and the immersion blender, yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Fresh tomatoes are not always available where I live. Sometimes I can find canned tomatoes, but usually not the kind I need/want for a recipe. I adapted this recipe using 1 (28 oz) can of tomato puree, 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, and 1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste. I first sauted 1/2 diced onion and approx 3 cloves fresh minced garlic in a little olive oil. Next added all the canned tomatoes and simmered for about 20 mins. Next I added the fresh basil and salt and pepper to taste. Pureed all in a food processor then returned the mixture to the pot. I added the cream but no butter and simmered for an additional 10 mins (till heated). Garnished with fresh basil leaves and served with crusty French baguette slices that I broiled in the oven topped with fresh Parmesan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! As others suggested, I left out the milk and butter and it was still delicious. I also added some dill which added some great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was in the mood for grilled cheese and tomato soup today, and was out of condensed. I halved this recipe since it was only for my daughter and me. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so a can of the petite diced tomatoes served as the pinch hitter today. Well, guess what? No fresh basil either, so I used the dried stuff (gasp!). I added spices to my liking and used reviewer suggestions to add brown sugar (used 1 tsp since I was halving the recipe). I used a cup of half & half, as well as a couple ounces of cream cheese. Served with a triple cheese grilled cheese sandwich, I felt like a kid again. If only DD would've felt the same way. Lovely recipe; I look forward to trying this with fresh ingredients next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I've made this twice in the past month. So good! and to think before I tried this I hated tomato soup. Even my roommate who didn't care for tomato soup loved this! I make it as is stirring cheddar cheese in before serving. Thank you Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States