Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Delicious! Suggested alterations: low sodium broth, low sodium SPICY V8, only 4 oz heavy cream, and 3 oz fat free cream cheese (instead of butter). A little thicker and DELICIOUS... if my math is correct: 1c = 95 cal & 10 carbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was fine and I did it 'mostly' as written. I did use fresh picked tomatoes out of my garden instead of canned and home made tomato juice. I used 1/2 and 1/2 since my heavy cream was outdated. I think there are better soup recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Bought diced tomatoes accidentally, just smashed em up with my meat tenderizer though and followed the directions. None fresh, so I used 1 tsp dried basil which I added in the end. The soup shrank up quite a bit. It tasted delicious. We ate it with toasted whole wheat Simple Truth bread, nothing super fancy, and it was great with it. The soup is just as good as a fancy restaurant. It only made 4 servings, however, but it was a side to chicken casserole. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We love this soup!! I do double the recipe and add 3 Tablespoon of sugar at the end. Makes it a bit sweeter, which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The soup was tasty, but it was better before I added the heavy cream. Wish I wouldn't have added that. I thought it would give it even more flavor, but really it took away from the flavor. I will make this again, but will try it with half the butter, and probably no cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Simply delicious. Paired it with good old fashioned grilled cheese sandwiches for a warm comforting meal on a meatless-Friday night supper during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Wow! I usually don't like tomato soup unless I dip something in it but this was amazing just by itself! Just added a little parsley, onion powder, and garlic powder and bam! Totally awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
We loved this soup. I had to use dried basil so I put it in at the very beginning and let it cook with the tomatoes for thirty minutes or so. Following some advice from other reviewers I decided to add the TBSP of brown sugar. I have had better tomato basil - so next time I will pay attention to it's flavor a little bit better so that I can compare. Texture was smooth. I hate tomatoes and tomato soup out of a can. Tomato basil - I LOVE. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
quick and easy to make! So much better than canned soup. I used spicy tomato-veg juice. Probably will add more basil next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I liked this, but had to modify it to make is wonderful Here's what I did. I added a parmesan rind right away. I then added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp of dried parsley and 2 tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States