Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
5 Plus for its simplicity to make and for the taste! You MUST use fresh basil. I did end up using a little more basil than called for. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This soup is Fabulous!! I tripled the recipe and served it with garlic cheese croutons as part of a buffet for a birthday party and everyone loved it! As other reviewers suggested, I used half & half instead of heavy cream. I also used Low Sodium vegetable juice in order to control the salt, so I ended up adding a good amount of kosher salt and a small amount of pepper and garlic powder along the way. This soup just gets better with time. I made mine the day before, refrigerated it, and then kept at serving temp on my stove for hours during the party. Although it would have been good served immediately, it was superb when allowed time to blend the flavors. The basil flavor really came out overnight! People who don't even like tomato soup LOVED this recipe!! I will definately make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I have made this twice. I added additional tomatoes the second time (a can of diced tomatoes) and it was better. I might even add more fresh basil next time as well. It is really good though and extremely quick and simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was incredibly good. I was baking some fresh whole wheat bread, and desperately wanted a grilled cheese and tomato soup. I had no fresh tomatoes on hand, so I used this recipe. I made a grilled cheese with the bread (which was made with mostly white flour, and a little whole wheat flour), provolone and meunster cheese. This is so yummy, a new comfort food favorite. Side note- I put my hand held Cuisinart blender stick into the pot, and it tipped the pot over onto me and I now have second degree burns on my abdomen, but the soup it still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I would probably go ahead and give this one 5 stars if I'd have followed the directions. So the less than perfect rating is actually my own fault. But don't get me wrong, it was still very good. I used half & half in place of heavy cream and light, whipped butter in place of the real deal. Also, I did not puree in the blender as instructed... (I was in a hurry and skipped it). However, the flavor was truly excellent. I will make this again and do as the recipe states next time; I'll bet it'll be "wonderful" rather than just "good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. But I changed the cream for milk. It tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I am not a fan of tomatoes, but I love the tomato basil or tomato bisque soups that you find in restaurants, so we decided to try to make one at home. This was very easy and very good. I did use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream and I did add 2 heaping teaspoons of white sugar. We also added garlic croutons to the top when we were eating and that really made it taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I just opened a european deli end I was looking for for a tomato basil soup,this was the biggest hit(for soups),I sold it out on my first day.I added also 1 Tbsp of brown sugar.Thank you for this wonderful recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was fabulous!! I will make again and again and again! Tomatos did not taste like they were from a can, and I blended it to make it smoother. It was just incredible! Dont change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
So easy and so delicious. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States