Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
YUMMMMMYYYY!!!! This was one heck of a soup, and SO easy to make. I picked this soup because it used canned tomatoes, and I had several cans to use up. I spiced this up a LOT with garlic powder, onion, powder, and some cayenne. It was really creamy but not heavy. I'll make this again very soon. Went perfect with the sandwich I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I'm not a tomato soup fan (I think it's just warm catsup), but this was very good and easy to make. I added 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. white pepper and 1 Tbl. brown sugar. Then made a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Nice quick, easy and good tasting soup. Has a fresh tomato taste without fresh tomatoes--but fresh basil is crucial! I used 1/2 cup fat free half and half and 2 Tablespoons of butter then seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I think it would taste good no matter how you played around with the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was skeptical to try this, as my brain told me good, homemade soup takes hours. I made a couple of substitutions to work with what I had on hand--my homemade tomatoes put up from my garden, already seasoned with onion, olive oil and parsley for one. I also used regular tomato juice rather than V-8, and added garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used basil from my garden, so it couldn't have been any fresher. So you throw a few things into a pot, stir, and add a couple of things to finish. How easy is that? Not only that, but this soup, garnished with a sprig of basil, was as pretty and delicious as any we've had in fine restaurants. This is yet another example of how great food doesn't have to be time consuming and complicated--just a few good and simple ingredients can turn out something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Weeknight favorite! Great with low fat grilled cheese sandwiches on whole wheat bread. I omit the butter and use fat free half and half instead of cream...still wonderful and much more figure friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
The soup is absolutely delish - the best tomato soup I've ever had!! (Which is saying a lot considering I don't really like tomatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Great recipe, I will be making this again! I did need to add a bit of salt and sugar, but other than that, a very good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
v. easy. Add ravioli for hearty meal-in-a-soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
What this recipe neglects to mention is that it may be a good idea to let the soup mixture cool down before putting it in the blender. Otherwise you will have a soup explosion on your hands. Also, I put in less tomato juice than the recipe calls for, just a couple of splashes. A whole can would make the soup too runny and not creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this recipie so much! It's very easy, and tastes so great. I have request for this recipie everytime I serve it! Just FYI, I never puree my soup, I like the little bits of tomato! Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States