Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
added garlic, pepper, salt, a bay leaf... turned out great. served with good ol grilled cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
5 stars for ease, 4 for taste. It seemed to need something, so I added quite a bit of onion powder (gradually) and a tsp. of sugar. It was delicious. Oh...I couldn't bring myself to add the butter; maybe it would have sweetened it, but I can't imagine it would have added that much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Holy Mackerel! This was amazing! I added 2 cloves of diced garlic, and used diced tomatoes instead of the juice. I chopped the basil up and added at 15 mins and it was UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good. I used sustitued whole tomatoes for the juice and stock and added 6 ounces of pepper jack at the end. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very easy to make, and delicious. As other reviewers have suggested, I will add a tablespoon of brown sugar to the soup next time, as it was a bit acidy tasting. Served with light and fluffy spinach quiche, also from this site, for a wonderful and easy Saturday supper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
YUMMMMMYYYY!!!! This was one heck of a soup, and SO easy to make. I picked this soup because it used canned tomatoes, and I had several cans to use up. I spiced this up a LOT with garlic powder, onion, powder, and some cayenne. It was really creamy but not heavy. I'll make this again very soon. Went perfect with the sandwich I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I'm not a tomato soup fan (I think it's just warm catsup), but this was very good and easy to make. I added 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. white pepper and 1 Tbl. brown sugar. Then made a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Nice quick, easy and good tasting soup. Has a fresh tomato taste without fresh tomatoes--but fresh basil is crucial! I used 1/2 cup fat free half and half and 2 Tablespoons of butter then seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I think it would taste good no matter how you played around with the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was skeptical to try this, as my brain told me good, homemade soup takes hours. I made a couple of substitutions to work with what I had on hand--my homemade tomatoes put up from my garden, already seasoned with onion, olive oil and parsley for one. I also used regular tomato juice rather than V-8, and added garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used basil from my garden, so it couldn't have been any fresher. So you throw a few things into a pot, stir, and add a couple of things to finish. How easy is that? Not only that, but this soup, garnished with a sprig of basil, was as pretty and delicious as any we've had in fine restaurants. This is yet another example of how great food doesn't have to be time consuming and complicated--just a few good and simple ingredients can turn out something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Weeknight favorite! Great with low fat grilled cheese sandwiches on whole wheat bread. I omit the butter and use fat free half and half instead of cream...still wonderful and much more figure friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States