Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was skeptical to try this, as my brain told me good, homemade soup takes hours. I made a couple of substitutions to work with what I had on hand--my homemade tomatoes put up from my garden, already seasoned with onion, olive oil and parsley for one. I also used regular tomato juice rather than V-8, and added garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used basil from my garden, so it couldn't have been any fresher. So you throw a few things into a pot, stir, and add a couple of things to finish. How easy is that? Not only that, but this soup, garnished with a sprig of basil, was as pretty and delicious as any we've had in fine restaurants. This is yet another example of how great food doesn't have to be time consuming and complicated--just a few good and simple ingredients can turn out something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Weeknight favorite! Great with low fat grilled cheese sandwiches on whole wheat bread. I omit the butter and use fat free half and half instead of cream...still wonderful and much more figure friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
The soup is absolutely delish - the best tomato soup I've ever had!! (Which is saying a lot considering I don't really like tomatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Great recipe, I will be making this again! I did need to add a bit of salt and sugar, but other than that, a very good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
v. easy. Add ravioli for hearty meal-in-a-soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
What this recipe neglects to mention is that it may be a good idea to let the soup mixture cool down before putting it in the blender. Otherwise you will have a soup explosion on your hands. Also, I put in less tomato juice than the recipe calls for, just a couple of splashes. A whole can would make the soup too runny and not creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I love this recipie so much! It's very easy, and tastes so great. I have request for this recipie everytime I serve it! Just FYI, I never puree my soup, I like the little bits of tomato! Thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This soup was super easy to make so it was perfect for a weeknight and it was delicious. I didn't add the butter, and I don't think it was missing anything without it. I've added this recipe to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wow! This was so delicious! Even my husband, who normally can give or take tomato soup, said this was great and he liked that it was thicker than the average bowl of Campbell's- and much tastier too! I followed the recipe completely until the very end, and instead of an entire cup of cream, I only added half a cup, and I omitted the butter altogether. The creamy consistency was perfect. I also added a little bit of dried dill to add to the herb flavor, a teaspoon of bottled minced garlic, and some salt and pepper. The end result was VERY close to the Tomato-Dill Soup I love at one of our local restaurants. Great recipe Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good and so easy. I would recommend thickening a bit but that's only because I like my soups with a bit more structure. I also added two large crushed cloves of garlic and fat-free half and half as well as salt and pepper to taste and it came out quite tasty. With a few tweaks it will be a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States