Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Incredible recipe! I tripled it to take to my son's school and I was blown away by how easy and tasty this recipe is! Several people asked for the recipe and one is making it for a tailgate this weekend! The only thing I changed was to add some minced garlic. I used homemade chicken stock (only because I had some frozen) so I needed to add a little salt as well. I may cut back a bit on the cream and butter next time, just to save calories. Fabulous -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent/ used the canned fire roasted tomatoes/sauted half small onion and one garlic clove at the start then added remaining ingred/used olive oil in place of butter and fat free 1/2 and 1/2, only added enough of it until the color was right to our liking. Great base to start from. Only two of us and over a couple of rainy days here in SC we finished it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Just made this soup. It was fabulous! As good as you might expect from any fine restaurant. I took advice from a couple other reviews and did add 1/2 T brown sugar, plus I did puree the soup. Will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was very, very good as written! Very simple and easy/quick to make! I prefer spicier & more tomato chunks so I will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
super easy and VERY tasty! Tastes similar to the tomato basil soup at Jason's Deli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
As a tomato soup "junky" this recipe is a "KEEPER" it is really good and a great place to use your fresh basil if you are not a pesto freak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I am a cook at a sorority house and recently needed a recipe for tomato basil soup (quickly). This one was first on the list and I printed it out to use. I increased the amounts to make enough to feed around 65 girls, but because most of these girls eat as if each meal is their last, I needed to stretch the final amount. My solution was to add some condensed Campbell's soup to the mixture and some water. The results were amazing. The girls asked for sour cream as a "side" and added dollups of sour cream directly into the soup. They literally licked the bowls clean!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is delish. I made it every week last summer with basil from my backyard. It is very forgiving - I know because I often get the measurements or order of events wrong. It still tastes great. When basil isn't growing outside, we just use jarred pesto. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
WONDERFUL!! WE ARE MAKING FOR THE SECOND TIME IN TWO WEEK-ENDS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I didn't want a creamy soup - just a tomato basil soup so I started out knowing I wasn't going to be putting the butter or cream in.... I used a 14.5 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and a 14.5 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes. I put this in the food processor with the basil reserving half of the can of diced tomatoes for a chunky soup. I transferred everything to the saucepan along with chicken broth, V8, 1 Tbsp. of minced garlic, 1 tsp. of vinegar, 1/2. tsp. of thyme, 1 Tbsp. of brown sugar, and some salt & pepper. I followed the cooking time and it was delicious. I topped it with some seasoned croutons and served with BLT's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States