Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fay
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! And contrary to one of the posts, it is not at all too salty. The salt is PERFECT because as you boil, the water cooks off and you keep adding more water. A few things I do differently: 1. I cut back on the on the jalapenos and pepper flakes a bit just cause I'm a wimp. But the seasoning overall is PERFECT. BONA FIDE Cajun boiled peanut flavor from a roadside stand in the panhandle! 2. I boil on HIGH (not low) for 24 hours. Even then they aren't soft enough for me (even if I use "green" peanuts). I let them cool off and just sit in the crock pot for another 24 hours. Then they became supremely awesome. 3. After years of making these with regular raw peanuts, I finally got some green ones. They got soft faster, but you really can achieve the same taste with just a little longer in the pot if all you can get are raw. It wasn't worth how much trouble it is to procure green peanuts if you can't get them locally. Just FYI my picture is the close-up in a white cup. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Being from Cali, I had never heard of boiled peanuts until I moved to the South. After trying from various locations, I am addicted and knew I needed to try this myself! Unfortunately, they are extremely salty and I believe that the boil I used (Louisiana Crab and shrimp boil) has an underlying clove flavor which I dislike. Next time I'll try less salt and Zatarain's, or my own if I can't find a clove free variety. Good base recipe though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendocino, California, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
AWESOME!!! Thanks SO much Rachael! I am a New Orleans girl relocated to Florida, I fell in love with boiled peanuts. This recipe is great! I did omit the salt because Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) has plenty. I also added a teaspoon of Cayenne pepper. After 12 hours I started checking for the peanuts for softness. I think everyone likes them differently. I like them soft but not too soft. Mine were done perfectly around 14 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachaels37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I accidentally bought roasted.....anyone else do this? I have them cooking now, hopefully they get soft... Smells delish and spicy so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starlove3
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We made this recipe and it is amazing! My dad is from Alabama and that is where we would always enjoy our boiled peanuts... my fiance and I now live in Colorado and they do not have this tasty treat. We added cayenne to make it more spicy... and I think next time we will add fresh garlic instead of powder. Another user said they used beer and that may be a good idea too... and maybe throw in some sausage too. Trust us... you will want to make more than just 1lb... because right when you're finishing the first batch you will wish you had more... but will have to wait another 24 hours... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I had never had boiled peanuts before, but I had a feeling I would like them. Wow!!!!!!!!!! Absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!! Thank you for the recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Finally! My boyfriend is from South Carolina and we have tried many MANY recipes trying to reproduce what he's had back home. This one is the closest and best tasting recipe yet! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We were raised on boiled peanuts. We used to have our family who live in Florida Fed Ex peanuts from their farm just so we could have boiled peanuts.. However, our family did them strictly with tons of salt. These were awesome, and with minimal salt use. I could hardly wait for the first batch to cook for 12 hours, and so I threw in a second bag. They were great with my weekend beers, and also great for breakfast. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made this about 3 times now. I cut back on the red pepper flakes (used about 1/4 cup). Zatarains crab boil is better than McCormick, in my opinion. I did not use the seeds or membranes from the jalapeños. Mine take a little over 24 hours of cooking as I like my peanuts super soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These were great! My husband loves cajun boiled peanuts, but I'd never tried making them myself before. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States