Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I had never had boiled peanuts before, but I had a feeling I would like them. Wow!!!!!!!!!! Absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!! Thank you for the recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe made me sign up to all recipes. Please do not boil peanuts for 24 hours! Whether you are using fresh(green) or regular dried raw, spanish or jumbo(the best IMO). I grew up in the south and have been eating boilt Pnuts since I was a small child and have been cooking them for nearly 30 years (my current fave is a spicy curry). However, tonight is the first time time Ive ever tried to cook em in a pressure cooker and that is the reason why I stumbled upon this recipe. But in all my experience at cooking them on the stovetop at a low boil/simmer I have 3 points: 1) Nicely cooked peanuts should be soft but not mush. Somewhere tween 4-7 hours will get them there. 24 hours? Theres pretty much nothing in this world that needs to cook so incredibly long. 2) Salt the brine, NOT the peanut! Add salt slowly, stir to dissolve then spoon some out, cool and taste. It should be salty but not overpowering. If you taste the peanut to determine the right amount of salt you will get it wrong. This leads me to: 3) Im a firm believer in letting them cool down in the hot brine. As they cool, the brine gets pulled into the nut. This is especially important when doing any kind of flavors. Curry, cajun, asian etc. There are my 3 cents. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Finally! My boyfriend is from South Carolina and we have tried many MANY recipes trying to reproduce what he's had back home. This one is the closest and best tasting recipe yet! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We were raised on boiled peanuts. We used to have our family who live in Florida Fed Ex peanuts from their farm just so we could have boiled peanuts.. However, our family did them strictly with tons of salt. These were awesome, and with minimal salt use. I could hardly wait for the first batch to cook for 12 hours, and so I threw in a second bag. They were great with my weekend beers, and also great for breakfast. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made this about 3 times now. I cut back on the red pepper flakes (used about 1/4 cup). Zatarains crab boil is better than McCormick, in my opinion. I did not use the seeds or membranes from the jalapeños. Mine take a little over 24 hours of cooking as I like my peanuts super soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These were great! My husband loves cajun boiled peanuts, but I'd never tried making them myself before. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
First off I have never tried boiled peanuts or cooked them but the gal I'm dating is from Orlando and says they are her favorite thing to eat. Being the nice guy I am I searched everywhere for raw peanuts (whole foods, other organic stores) but here in Vegas found it to be impossible. Well finally I found them on amazon and will be getting my 4lb bag tomorrow. I'm really excited to try this out for her. She loves spicy food and I got all the ingredients to make this to a tee but if anyone has any recommendations on how I can make these taste like what she is used to I would be grateful. Lookin forward to tryin my first batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Holy boiled peanuts was this AMAZING!!! I will never want to buy from the roadside guys again - haha! I am born and raised in FL and these turned out freaking awesome! Just some of my own personal experiences: *I only added about 1/4 cup of salt as I thought 1/2 cup would be too much but hubby said it needed more salt so he added that last 1/4 cup but that (to me) made it a bit too salty. *We picked up the extra spicy crab boil - WOW was that spicy, LOL!! So if you like spicy but not TOO spicy then don't get the extra spicy. *With the crockpot - we had it set on High for just about all 24hrs. Right now it's set at Keep Warm until hubby gets home to enjoy them. It seems like if it were set to low this whole time they may not be as soft as we like them. (Not mushy but seems like it may still have a little crunch.. if that makes sense.) *And for the ones rating this recipe a 1 or 2 stars AND YOU DON'T EVEN LIKE BOILED PEANUTS then honestly what on earth are you even doing here?? Go play in the snow!! *Why on earth would anyone give this a low rating just because they don't know what to do with the crab boil bag?? If you do a simple Google search you would have read that you just place the bag into the water. (Honestly, if y'all want a good laugh just read through these reviews!!) This was our first attempt on making boiled peanuts at home and a big thank you to Rachael for making it a HUGE success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Simply divine! Just like we used to get in Central Florida. Since moving to NY, we haven't been able to get boiled peanuts anywhere - even at the fair. My 7 year old kept asking for 'em, so I figured if I want to eat them here, I better learn how to make 'em. Have tried the recipe a few times now - the first time they were perfect for the whole family just as the recipe is, except too hot for the 7 year old who kept begging for them, so I toned it down on the next batch. I have to say, these are very forgiving - I've had to make various substitutions just because if what I had, or didn't have, on hand - used minced garlic instead of powder, or added seasonings like those that are in the Cajun seasoning but missing one or two ingredients. And once, made it without the crab boil. Still came out great. Thank you so very much for sharing this, Rachael! You're da bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe and very easy to do. It's a no-brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States