Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Used a little less salt, no jalapeños (didn't have any)! Used Old Bay, doubled garlic powder - and they turned out terrific. Will use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe is enjoyable, however, I would add less red pepper. I found it to be pretty hot for my taste. I wanted more of the cajun flavor with mild heat, so if I make it again, I'll experiment with more crab boil and cajun seasoning and about a ? cup of red pepper flakes instead of a half cup. Other than that it's quite tasty, just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Glidewell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
While the flavor was good, I, and the friends I had try this, thought it was much too salty. I followed the recipe exactly. I've let it sit on warm in the crockpot after the 1 day of cooking on low and added more and more water to try to dilute it, it has made it a little better (i.e. less salty). Next batch, I'll cut the salt down by at least half. Don't think 1/2 cup salt is needed/should be used. Typo on the recipe or just large difference in saltiness preference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I sure have....and it is easy, the ingredients are handy & if you crock pot it, you have an easy snack that everyone loves! I followed the recipes from roadside vendors on my way to New Smyrna Beach, FL. They are spicy & salty good!! Don't pay for someone to make it. Do it yourself! My boiled peanuts are soooo good that I may try to sell them myself LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made these last night. I started them at 10pm and by 10am they were done. I used my 6 quart crock pot for a pound and a half of nuts and a gallon of water. I followed the directions and I added extra of the spices and jalapeno peppers for more heat. I checked the water after a 1/4 cup salt and it was salty enough for me, as I am watching my sodium intake and I love salt. The water was extra spicy and burned my mouth in a good way. The nuts have a nice flavor, but not hot and spicy at all. I also used GREEN PEANUTS. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
sounds great ! BUT do you let them dry or put in the oven to dry ? Are they soggy and soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
We absolutely LOVE this recipe! The only problem was that we didn't cook enough and are making another batch now. We made a few changes….we left out the jalapeños, added some cayenne pepper, used 1/4 cup regular salt and 1/4 cup sea salt, and instead of regular crab boil I used Old Bay Blackened seasoning and some regular Old Bay. I let them soak in the seasoned water for about 3 hours before I put them in the crock pot. Also, it took about 36 hours to cook in our crock pot, not 24. They turned out incredible! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fay
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! And contrary to one of the posts, it is not at all too salty. The salt is PERFECT because as you boil, the water cooks off and you keep adding more water. A few things I do differently: 1. I cut back on the on the jalapenos and pepper flakes a bit just cause I'm a wimp. But the seasoning overall is PERFECT. BONA FIDE Cajun boiled peanut flavor from a roadside stand in the panhandle! 2. I boil on HIGH (not low) for 24 hours. Even then they aren't soft enough for me (even if I use "green" peanuts). I let them cool off and just sit in the crock pot for another 24 hours. Then they became supremely awesome. 3. After years of making these with regular raw peanuts, I finally got some green ones. They got soft faster, but you really can achieve the same taste with just a little longer in the pot if all you can get are raw. It wasn't worth how much trouble it is to procure green peanuts if you can't get them locally. Just FYI my picture is the close-up in a white cup. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Being from Cali, I had never heard of boiled peanuts until I moved to the South. After trying from various locations, I am addicted and knew I needed to try this myself! Unfortunately, they are extremely salty and I believe that the boil I used (Louisiana Crab and shrimp boil) has an underlying clove flavor which I dislike. Next time I'll try less salt and Zatarain's, or my own if I can't find a clove free variety. Good base recipe though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendocino, California, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
AWESOME!!! Thanks SO much Rachael! I am a New Orleans girl relocated to Florida, I fell in love with boiled peanuts. This recipe is great! I did omit the salt because Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) has plenty. I also added a teaspoon of Cayenne pepper. After 12 hours I started checking for the peanuts for softness. I think everyone likes them differently. I like them soft but not too soft. Mine were done perfectly around 14 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachaels37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States