Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had only tried boiled peanuts one time and decided to give these a shot. They turned out really good and were simple to throw together. The wait was hard but good things come to those that wait right? These ended up with just the right amount of spice and salt. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by KissTheChefette
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I am so happy I found this recipe!!! I recently moved to NY from FL, and needless to say there's more different than alike up here. I miss my spicy boiled peanuts from the roadside stand, and these are DYNO-MITE! The longer you let them sit on low in the crock pot, the better! I followed everything to a T, and I used the recipe on here for cajun seasoning (and had a little left over for the next batch!): 1 tablespoon salt 1-1/4 teaspoons dried oregano 1-1/4 teaspoons paprika 1-1/4 teaspoons cayenne pepper 1-1/4 teaspoons ground black pepper EDIT: I made these for superbowl, and used sliced brined jalapenos and a bottle of beer and they were excellent!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The best I've had in years. I lived in Pensacola, Fl for a few years. When I move I started making my own and have tried many reciepes. Usually they would turn out good, but not quite the same as I've had in FL. This resicpe has the taste and flavor I've been looking for. A real keeper. Thank's rachaelp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We must have gone to the same peanut stand in Ocala because these taste exactly like the kind we had. This is the first time I've ever made them and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I took these to a party and everyone LOVED them! I cooked them 30 hours and was told they could have used a few more hours so next time I'll try 36 hours. but other than that I changed nothinbg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I LIVED IN UMATILLA,FL. 24 YR.S NEXT TO OCALA,AN EAT A TON OF THESES CAJUN PEANUTS, NOW,I LIVE IN TN. WAS SURE MISSING THEM NUTS, NOT ANY MORE !!!!! THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST, THANK U !!! VIOLET
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Here's another recipe that I wish I could give 6 stars to! I live in Pensacola, FL and have eaten my fair share of roadside stand boiled peanuts. I love them and these are some of the best I've ever had. I didn't change a thing about the spice blend. I love the fact that this recipe doesn't call for alot of salt compared to some other recipes. You don't need it. The spice blend gives the peanuts tons of flavor. If you are afraid of the heat, don't be. These have a little kick, but they won't send you running for the milk jug. It took about 26 hrs for mine to cook the way I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yes! I finally found a recipe for peanuts I used to eat all the time as a kid (yes, I've always liked food with a kick). This is a keeper! Beats regular "salt only" boiled peanuts any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Awesome! I'd never made anything like these so I wasn't sure what to expect. The whole family was pleasantly surprised. I made a few minor changes... I used about 1/8 cup of the red pepper flakes and de-seeded the jalapenos because we don't like super-hot food. They still came out plenty hot!! I also was unable to find unsalted, raw, in-shell peanuts so I used the salted ones and rinsed them as well as omitted the salt. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I thought they were very good. Everyone enjoyed them at our Supper Club. I cooked them for about 26 hours and let them sit and cool in the "brine" so they got even more flavor. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States