Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KissTheChefette
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I am so happy I found this recipe!!! I recently moved to NY from FL, and needless to say there's more different than alike up here. I miss my spicy boiled peanuts from the roadside stand, and these are DYNO-MITE! The longer you let them sit on low in the crock pot, the better! I followed everything to a T, and I used the recipe on here for cajun seasoning (and had a little left over for the next batch!): 1 tablespoon salt 1-1/4 teaspoons dried oregano 1-1/4 teaspoons paprika 1-1/4 teaspoons cayenne pepper 1-1/4 teaspoons ground black pepper EDIT: I made these for superbowl, and used sliced brined jalapenos and a bottle of beer and they were excellent!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The best I've had in years. I lived in Pensacola, Fl for a few years. When I move I started making my own and have tried many reciepes. Usually they would turn out good, but not quite the same as I've had in FL. This resicpe has the taste and flavor I've been looking for. A real keeper. Thank's rachaelp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is just like Florida Peanuts :) Heres a trick - to not have to waith the 24 hours, put the whole mix in a pressure cooker, cook for 45 minutes on medium high pressure. Then, transfer to crock pot for 2 hours - you have your peanuts in 3 hours! Thanks so much for this - my fam loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
well...these turned out really good for me...i can see why they can be addicting...but am not sure how they are supposed to taste but they taste great to me...so simple...i had them in the crock pot for about 20 hours and then let them sit in the brine til cooled and put the peanuts and brine in a plastic ice cream pail with a lid to store as bud w from this site suggested...forsure will make them again...oh an i used old bay instead of the crab boil coz i didn't have any...thanks for the recipe rachael...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My one passion in life is boiled peanuts! I grew up in peanut country (Dothan AL) so I have eaten boiled peanuts all my life. This was just ok for me. Not bad, but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We must have gone to the same peanut stand in Ocala because these taste exactly like the kind we had. This is the first time I've ever made them and they turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I took these to a party and everyone LOVED them! I cooked them 30 hours and was told they could have used a few more hours so next time I'll try 36 hours. but other than that I changed nothinbg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I LIVED IN UMATILLA,FL. 24 YR.S NEXT TO OCALA,AN EAT A TON OF THESES CAJUN PEANUTS, NOW,I LIVE IN TN. WAS SURE MISSING THEM NUTS, NOT ANY MORE !!!!! THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST, THANK U !!! VIOLET
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Here's another recipe that I wish I could give 6 stars to! I live in Pensacola, FL and have eaten my fair share of roadside stand boiled peanuts. I love them and these are some of the best I've ever had. I didn't change a thing about the spice blend. I love the fact that this recipe doesn't call for alot of salt compared to some other recipes. You don't need it. The spice blend gives the peanuts tons of flavor. If you are afraid of the heat, don't be. These have a little kick, but they won't send you running for the milk jug. It took about 26 hrs for mine to cook the way I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had only tried boiled peanuts one time and decided to give these a shot. They turned out really good and were simple to throw together. The wait was hard but good things come to those that wait right? These ended up with just the right amount of spice and salt. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States