Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Hi, this is Rachael. I read some of the recent reviews and I feel that's it's unfair to poorly rate this recipe if you don't like the consistentcy of boiled peanuts! This isn't to make crunchy, roasted peanuts, its for soft, boiled peanuts! For the rest of you, I am so THRILLED that ya'll have enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I had never eaten boiled peanuts before fixing these. After 36 hours in the slow cooker I couldn’t wait to try them! The only way I could describe them was like eating lima beans. Maybe with spices! I thought I have screwed the recipe up but after taking them to work and consulting with a guy from Florida he said, “Yelp, they are like that.” Recipe may on the money but I’ll not revisit this experience at home or on the roadside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BootzCrawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Absolutely Superb! I cooked in pressure cooker for 2 hours and slow cooker for additional 2 hrs. Very good peanuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I don't know how to rate these ... the flavour was great but soft peanuts? From what I've read, Southerners, who are raised with these, will like this recipe, but Northerners (like myself) who are used to crunchy peanuts likely will not. Sorry I can't rate this higher ... just personal preference I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Brooke129
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I LOVE boiled peanuts, but have never tried making them myself! These were so easy and wonderful! The package of peanuts I bought were 1.5 lbs, but I kept the measurements the same as the recipe called for since I didn't know how spicy it would be and I knew my 6 yr old would want some too. They still came out amazing! Next time I will cut back a little on the salt, but other than that, I won't change a thing! I cooked them on low for 21 hrs, and then turned it up to high for 2 more hours, and they were good after a total of 23 hours. Some might have given it another hour, but I don't like them too soft. Perfect! Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
my peanuts turned out soggy and drippy. flavor? more suited to shrimp. guess I'm used to salty and crunchy peanuts. won't be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I thought they were very good. Everyone enjoyed them at our Supper Club. I cooked them for about 26 hours and let them sit and cool in the "brine" so they got even more flavor. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Awesome! I'd never made anything like these so I wasn't sure what to expect. The whole family was pleasantly surprised. I made a few minor changes... I used about 1/8 cup of the red pepper flakes and de-seeded the jalapenos because we don't like super-hot food. They still came out plenty hot!! I also was unable to find unsalted, raw, in-shell peanuts so I used the salted ones and rinsed them as well as omitted the salt. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yes! I finally found a recipe for peanuts I used to eat all the time as a kid (yes, I've always liked food with a kick). This is a keeper! Beats regular "salt only" boiled peanuts any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had only tried boiled peanuts one time and decided to give these a shot. They turned out really good and were simple to throw together. The wait was hard but good things come to those that wait right? These ended up with just the right amount of spice and salt. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States