Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made this about 3 times now. I cut back on the red pepper flakes (used about 1/4 cup). Zatarains crab boil is better than McCormick, in my opinion. I did not use the seeds or membranes from the jalapeños. Mine take a little over 24 hours of cooking as I like my peanuts super soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These were great! My husband loves cajun boiled peanuts, but I'd never tried making them myself before. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
First off I have never tried boiled peanuts or cooked them but the gal I'm dating is from Orlando and says they are her favorite thing to eat. Being the nice guy I am I searched everywhere for raw peanuts (whole foods, other organic stores) but here in Vegas found it to be impossible. Well finally I found them on amazon and will be getting my 4lb bag tomorrow. I'm really excited to try this out for her. She loves spicy food and I got all the ingredients to make this to a tee but if anyone has any recommendations on how I can make these taste like what she is used to I would be grateful. Lookin forward to tryin my first batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Holy boiled peanuts was this AMAZING!!! I will never want to buy from the roadside guys again - haha! I am born and raised in FL and these turned out freaking awesome! Just some of my own personal experiences: *I only added about 1/4 cup of salt as I thought 1/2 cup would be too much but hubby said it needed more salt so he added that last 1/4 cup but that (to me) made it a bit too salty. *We picked up the extra spicy crab boil - WOW was that spicy, LOL!! So if you like spicy but not TOO spicy then don't get the extra spicy. *With the crockpot - we had it set on High for just about all 24hrs. Right now it's set at Keep Warm until hubby gets home to enjoy them. It seems like if it were set to low this whole time they may not be as soft as we like them. (Not mushy but seems like it may still have a little crunch.. if that makes sense.) *And for the ones rating this recipe a 1 or 2 stars AND YOU DON'T EVEN LIKE BOILED PEANUTS then honestly what on earth are you even doing here?? Go play in the snow!! *Why on earth would anyone give this a low rating just because they don't know what to do with the crab boil bag?? If you do a simple Google search you would have read that you just place the bag into the water. (Honestly, if y'all want a good laugh just read through these reviews!!) This was our first attempt on making boiled peanuts at home and a big thank you to Rachael for making it a HUGE success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Simply divine! Just like we used to get in Central Florida. Since moving to NY, we haven't been able to get boiled peanuts anywhere - even at the fair. My 7 year old kept asking for 'em, so I figured if I want to eat them here, I better learn how to make 'em. Have tried the recipe a few times now - the first time they were perfect for the whole family just as the recipe is, except too hot for the 7 year old who kept begging for them, so I toned it down on the next batch. I have to say, these are very forgiving - I've had to make various substitutions just because if what I had, or didn't have, on hand - used minced garlic instead of powder, or added seasonings like those that are in the Cajun seasoning but missing one or two ingredients. And once, made it without the crab boil. Still came out great. Thank you so very much for sharing this, Rachael! You're da bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe and very easy to do. It's a no-brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I ordered shelled peanuts by mistake, SO,I am trying this recipe with shelled peanuts. Does anyone have any thoughts on how I can replicate Rachael's boiled peanut recipe with these shelled peanuts. Help!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
i have lived in florida all my life, growing up my grandpa made boiled peanuts every weekend. especially during football season. the one thing this recipe is missing is a can of beer (i use busch, since its what my grandpa use to drink) the barley & hops in it give the peanuts the distinct flavor that boiled peanuts should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I don't like jalapeno in my peanuts, so I left those out -- that's the only thing I changed. I would never, ever have thought to add crab boil to the liquid, but I believe that's what gives the peanuts their distinctive boiled peanut flavor. This is just a perfect recipe, and I have shared it many times!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith90189

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe and/or a modified version of it for some time and I really enjoy it. However, one of the most important details about this recipe has been neglected. The volume of the slow cooker, or rather, the volume of water added to peanuts is ultimately what affects how salty/spicy these peanuts become. For example, if I add one gallon of water to this recipe the halved if I added, instead, two gallons of water... such that how salty the salt-water is would be the factor that affected how salty the peanuts were...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States