Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I ordered shelled peanuts by mistake, SO,I am trying this recipe with shelled peanuts. Does anyone have any thoughts on how I can replicate Rachael's boiled peanut recipe with these shelled peanuts. Help!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
i have lived in florida all my life, growing up my grandpa made boiled peanuts every weekend. especially during football season. the one thing this recipe is missing is a can of beer (i use busch, since its what my grandpa use to drink) the barley & hops in it give the peanuts the distinct flavor that boiled peanuts should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
LOVE this recipe! I don't like jalapeno in my peanuts, so I left those out -- that's the only thing I changed. I would never, ever have thought to add crab boil to the liquid, but I believe that's what gives the peanuts their distinctive boiled peanut flavor. This is just a perfect recipe, and I have shared it many times!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith90189

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe and/or a modified version of it for some time and I really enjoy it. However, one of the most important details about this recipe has been neglected. The volume of the slow cooker, or rather, the volume of water added to peanuts is ultimately what affects how salty/spicy these peanuts become. For example, if I add one gallon of water to this recipe the halved if I added, instead, two gallons of water... such that how salty the salt-water is would be the factor that affected how salty the peanuts were...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Quite tasty, like you said, Central FL. But the formula actually is 1 lb peanuts, 1 gallon water, 1 cup salt for regular, plus peppers and spice for Cajun. I took them off after 12 hours. Just right for me. Not a bit crunchy but not ooey gooey mushy like they get if cooked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I'm making these as I write this review. Only gave it 3 stars cuz I'm a little confused!! First.....the recipe says to add water to KEEP PEANUTS COVERED.....the peanuts are floating!!!! How am I to keep them covered if they're floating? Maybe after it comes to a boil, they'll settle down!!??!! Second....recipe calls for Crab boil.....I bought Zantarain's.....It came in a porous (SP?) bag. Was'nt sure if I should have just thrown the bag and all in the pot or opened the bag and dumped the seasonings in......I opened the bag and dumped the seasoning in. I REALLY hope these come out the way I remember them from the roadside in Florida....LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!!!! P.S.....they really smell good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I am Sooooo impressed with this receipe!! No longer does this Jersey Girl have to wait to go down South for her favorite snack! The spice is just right, the saltiness is just right.... the only thing I might change is the cook time, as many of the previous reviewers have stated... I would keep in the slow cooker closer to 30 hours for for a softer bite, HOWEVER.... LOL, I couldn't help sneaking bowl after bowl after about 24 hrs of cooking... ALSO... no one talks about storage life... I've checked and these can stay in the fridge safely for alittle over a week,...although some sites say almost a month is fine, but to be on the safe side, I would stick with the former.... ENJOY!! FABULOUS receipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Monroeville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was my first attempt at making any recipe for boiled peanuts and these are divine! I used two 3 oz packs of Mt. Olive sliced jalapenos (with the juice!) because that's what I had on hand and followed a recipe on here for the cajun seasoning. I also used 3 tbspns of the cajun seasoning and cut the salt back to 1/4 cup to ensure more spice than saltiness and it was awesome. I had plenty to share and several have asked for this recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I will try it soon! I am from GA, but live in CO. We can't get raw peanuts here. I usually have to have my relatives ship them to me....and people look at me crosseyed when I say "boiled peanuts". However, everyone who's tried them has LOVED them and found them quite addicting. I boil mine in a slowcooker too, but have to turn the heat up--the altitude here makes a huge difference. I am so glad to see something so loved in the heart of the south start rising to the surface!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Brilliant! From the west coast originally and lived in Florida for 7 years and I'm proud to say that these are just like the delicious goodness I got when I was there (only adding a full cup of serrano and jalapeños to change it because I like it stupid hot)... I'm happy to bring this to San Diego! Thank you! For those who dont like the texture and or saltiness... don't rate this poorly as you probably have no taste anyway :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States