Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wow...love these! Had a craving one day and was too lazy to go the store to buy peanuts or dry crab boil. Instead, I used a bag of dried garbanzo beans and Zatarain's liquid crab and shrimp boil. I know the garbanzo beans sound weird but they were good and best of all didn't have to peel them. May cut down on the salt next time as they were a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Absolutely amazing! My 11 year old and I could not stop eating them. Doubled recipe. I used fresh picked peanuts, we live in peanut country. Cooked about 32 hours and stored in fridge overnight in cooking liquid! So good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Couple changes: I didn't use as much salt, and substituted a "Soul Food" spice for the Cajun seasoning because I didn't have any. One thing: Be sure to wash the peanuts well by setting them in a colander in a bowl full of water. Shake the colander around until any bits like stones or torn-off shell cashings have settled to the bottom of bowl. Used Old Bay crab seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Great recipe! The spice blend is perfect, very flavorable & not too spicy! I followed the recipe exactly & wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These turned out perfectly! Thank you for such a great recipe! They were well worth the 24 hour cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These were really great! I followed the recipe to a T, and even my husband who didnt previously like boiled peanuts liked these. They were not super hot, but had a wonderful spicy/cajun flavor. I ended up letting them cook 26 hours, but the extra time didnt hurt them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are crazy good!! I was born and raised in Florida and these are the real deal. Thanks so much for allowing me to bring childhood memories flooding through my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Maybe it's because I am not from Florida?...I don't know. The texture was not appealing. Would have rather just had normal peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I'm a Florida girl and I grew up eating boiled peanuts. I love them and they're great with any seasoning you like, just go for it and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were very good. My boyfriend is crazy about them. My one regret is that I did not add all the jalapenos that the recipe called for. It actually could have been a little spicier. Next time I make these I will trust the recipie and put them all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cisowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States