Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My husband and I both give these 5 stars! So good! Thanks for sharing Rachael! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USNchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Hey Racheal' been a big fan of the boiled peanuts forever, and being a native northern boy whom had family in Fla the wife and I always had to stop at the stands on the way down,(what a mess in the car) when we visited the family. Came across your recipie and loved it, whith a few of my own variations, kinda like chili. really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the BEST recipe I have found! I make these all the time for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
my peanutes were soggy and mushy. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Have made twice! Very good and very easy. I cooked for a full 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I'm on board with Rachael (submitter of recipe)...if you don't know what "boiled peanuts" are all about, then don't submit a bad rating due to texture issues! I'm a northerner but have lived in the south and got hooked on these. I like this flavor way better then just plain salted ones. I used organic dry raw peanuts (2lbs) cuz when I got my craving, green peanuts weren't in season. I soaked my peanuts overnight in cold water (weighed em down w/a plate) drained, then proceeded with the recipe. I didn't use 'crab boil' - added some Old Bay. I also added a bottle of Honey Brown Ale initially and cooked in a 8QT heavy stock pot on the stove. If you store the pot in the fridge overnight (after cooking for 12 hrs) the peanuts tend to suck up more liquid and will finally sink down; then continue cooking next day. You have to sample one here n there until you get the texture you prefer. If you don't use green peanuts you may have to cook longer. If I had a pressure cooker I would try method mentioned. All I can say is if you want crunchy peanuts, don't try these or rate poorly because these are meant to be softish (like canned kidney beans). I like mine soft, but that's a personal pref. In any case, love the additional spice profile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've made these a couple of times, and just noticed a photo of completed peanuts and a 'bag' of peanuts. I do hope folks know that 'green' peanuts are what you are suppose to use for this recipe. I'm cooking a batch now and can't wait for the outcome. Will update this review when they finish. Green peanuts are only available certain times of the year, so to get the reall effect you might want to make sure that is what you start with. I'd never eaten these till my Mississippi husband had to have some a few years ago. So I had to figure out how to prepare some for him. So far he loves this recipe every time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
yummo! great recipe...i didn't use the jalapeno peppers cause i didn't have any. They were still delicious though. The longer they sit the hotter they get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
The recipe is very good, but I don't understand how to eat them (probably because I'm a Yankee)! They're very slow to eat and messy. Is the idea to prepare them for a crawfish boil or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
DEEEEEELICIOUS!!!!!!! I am an Ohioan, currently living in Coastal Mississippi, and have become addicted to these things! I made these for the first time this past weekend when two girlfriends came down to visit me, and they had never had them before. They were hooked after one bite! I like that I 'KNOW' how long they've been cooking, whereas the ones you can buy in those kettle cooker things in some stores down here, there's no way of telling how long those have been stewing, which perhaps is why sometimes they can be a bit too mushy. These have just the right amount of give, and I cooked them on low for at least 24-30 hours, then turned the crockpot to 'warm' for the next 24 hours (just because I forgot to put them away), and the next day, I scooped them out and put them into a gallon-sized ziploc bag and stored them in the fridge. That was 3 days ago, and I'm eating the last few today, with a little help from some co-workers. wouldn't change a thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States