Rachael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a nice, simple recipe for chicken. It takes very little time and was quick and easy to make. However, the directions were not very clear so I only gave it three stars. I sprinkled the thyme over the chicken with a little pepper before I started. I then browned the chicken in the butter. I deglazed the pan with low sodium chicken broth and simmered for 30 minutes. The 30 minutes was really too long and my chicken was a little over done. I removed the chicken and boiled the sauce down. This took about five minutes and made a lot of sauce. Don't take the easy way out with a thickener like corn starch though, when boiled down the sauce gives you a slightly salty mixture with a strong thyme flavor. Because the mix is already a little salty I really recommend lost sodium broth. My 13 month old loved it and I will make again for sure. Next time I may try adding a little lemon juice to the mixture while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I really liked this recipe, just make sure to sear the chicken before you let it simmer in the sauce. This will keep the juices in it while it simmers, and leave a more juicy chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I was in a hurry for something quick and easy, and found this recipe. I didn't take the time to cook the chicken thoroughly during the browning phase, just browned quickly on each side then added the chicken broth and simmered about 20-30 minutes. I found it to be quite tasty! The broth thickens and tastes very good over the chicken. I will make this one again, thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was not horrible, but it was pretty boring. The sauce did not ever thicken for me, and it basically just tasted like chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I gave this 5 stars because it was a great starter. I added onion when I browned the chicken. I also added some wine to the broth and a pinch of rosemary with the thyme. I simmered it with the lid on and therefore it didnt thicken. I used flour and water to make a gravy for the egg noodles I served it with. Next time I make it I will add mushrooms when I brown the chicken. Great recipe, easy to suit to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I added a red onion, a splash of sherry, ad a handful of frozen peas- and this was a very nice dish. I give it three stars- but it would be five with the changes that i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This chicken was very good, especially the sauce. I seasoned the chicken with pepper and rosemary, in addition to the thyme. I also added about a tablespoon of sherry when I added the broth. The sauce does take a while to reduce, so don't worry about cooking the chicken the whole way through during the initial browning step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This dish is very tasty and quick and easy to make. I was did have any thyme on hand so I used rosemary and served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This recipe was okay, but not the best. The chicken was very juicy, but we were expecting more flavor. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I took navy_mommy's idea and added some lemon juice to the chicken, as well as serving it with a slice for appearance. The lemon went very nicely with the thyme and with the sprinkling of rosemary I added. I served this with a side of rice, and my boyfriend loved it. :) I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States