Rachael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is a nice, simple recipe for chicken. It takes very little time and was quick and easy to make. However, the directions were not very clear so I only gave it three stars. I sprinkled the thyme over the chicken with a little pepper before I started. I then browned the chicken in the butter. I deglazed the pan with low sodium chicken broth and simmered for 30 minutes. The 30 minutes was really too long and my chicken was a little over done. I removed the chicken and boiled the sauce down. This took about five minutes and made a lot of sauce. Don't take the easy way out with a thickener like corn starch though, when boiled down the sauce gives you a slightly salty mixture with a strong thyme flavor. Because the mix is already a little salty I really recommend lost sodium broth. My 13 month old loved it and I will make again for sure. Next time I may try adding a little lemon juice to the mixture while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I was in a hurry for something quick and easy, and found this recipe. I didn't take the time to cook the chicken thoroughly during the browning phase, just browned quickly on each side then added the chicken broth and simmered about 20-30 minutes. I found it to be quite tasty! The broth thickens and tastes very good over the chicken. I will make this one again, thanks Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I took navy_mommy's idea and added some lemon juice to the chicken, as well as serving it with a slice for appearance. The lemon went very nicely with the thyme and with the sprinkling of rosemary I added. I served this with a side of rice, and my boyfriend loved it. :) I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This chicken was very good, especially the sauce. I seasoned the chicken with pepper and rosemary, in addition to the thyme. I also added about a tablespoon of sherry when I added the broth. The sauce does take a while to reduce, so don't worry about cooking the chicken the whole way through during the initial browning step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is a nice basic recipe with a spring taste to it. Now I have something to use all the thyme I grow in the summer with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I hate to be negative, but I just didn't like this all that much! Although you only add a small amount of thyme, I thought it was too much - tasted too "seasoned". I won't be making this again but better luck to those that would like to try it. We all differ on taste anyway - this just wasn't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
This was not a bad dish. Make sure to use low or no sodium broth beacause of the reduction. I did find the dish to be a bit on the bland side. I think maybe next time I might add some cream and even some dijon mustad to the sauce for a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This recipe was okay, but not the best. The chicken was very juicy, but we were expecting more flavor. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I thought the flavor of this was okay but the sauce never thickened. I simmered for over 40 minutes and it was still very watery. I will probably try this recipe again because I think it has potential but maybe next time I'll add a tbsp or so of flour to try and thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This dish is very tasty and quick and easy to make. I was did have any thyme on hand so I used rosemary and served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States