Rabbit Stew with Coconut Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My husband said this was the best rabbit that he has ever had. A family friend had no idea that it was rabbit when served. The chili pepper added just the right amount of spice. I did not know what a bird's eye chile was so I used a serrano. It turned out great!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I love rabbit more than chicken, so I was excited to find a new and different recipe. My husband is a traditional rabbit cooker (you know, hunter style or cream style), which is fine, but I was ready to get out of the box. My kids and I loved this recipe! I did tone down the sweetness by correcting it with more chicken stock and boiling it back down (for my husband). I also cooked everything in a big dutch oven and just pulled out the rabbit to saute the veggies and drain the oil. I did remove the bones from the rabbit while the veggies cooked; that allowed me to eat my dinner rather than cut up my children's! AND no child felt badly about cutting up Bugs Bunny :). I think it helped! 5 stars from me and the kids and 4 from the traditional American hunter (whatever! I'll be making this again!) YUM! Oh...I couldn't help but add a touch of saffron. Just couldn't help myself! It was beautiful and delicious! I would have taken a picture, but I was too excited to eat! Even the next day, I had to say to a friend who was over, "Here, you have to try this!!" I know I'm blabbing, but it really rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Fantastic! This was my first time cooking rabbit- I don't think I'll be trying any other recipes. This had a very sophisticated taste, but was so easy to cook! Just lots of simmering! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dr. filomena
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I was a bit sceptical as I'd never made rabbit before, but having just eaten the meal, I had to run back to the computer and give it a full five-star rating here. THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dr. filomena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We're in love with this dish! Just made it tonight (we raise meat rabbits) and it was the best rabbit dish we've made so far. This recipe is a keeper. I added two serrano peppers and it really had a nice kick. The coconut milk made a delicious sauce that we ate over brown rice. I pressure cooked it for 30 minutes and the meat was falling-off-the bones tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSPHERBLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe!! Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
absolutely loved it! My dad is a gourmet cook and he said it the best rabbit he had! So defiantly will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Overall this was a great tasting dish. Although I did a few changes and would do more next time. First of all, I browned the meat and then put that and all the rest of the ingredients (except I put a small, fresh cayenne pepper instead of the chili pepper) into my pressure cooker and cooked for 30 mins like one of the other people tried. (I just love the taste and tenderness that the pressure cooker gives!) After the 30 mins. I took out the meat and deboned it...it was falling off the bone and VERY tender and tasty! I thickened the liquids with cornstarch and water and put the meat back in. The stew had too much heat (spice from the cayenne pepper) so I added about 1/4 c. of extra coconut milk. That helped alot! Next time I will add carrots, celery, and that extra milk. That should be just about perfect! :) Hubby loved it! We look forward to using this one again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Crockpot version: cut everything to desired bite size; put everything in pot (not need to saute); cook for 8 hours on low. Meats comes out tender and broth fan-freak'n-tastic! Can reduce broth on stove top if want more of a sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This did not work well for me. The rabbit ended up being overcooked, and falling apart. It was very bony, and hard to eat. The taste was average - not a lot of wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States