RO's Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My son made most of this dish by himself, with me a relief cook just jumping in when he needed it. I asked him to increase the garlic in the sauce to a few more minced cloves. There were no other changes made. The sauce was simple and meant to not overpower the meatballs, which were obviously the star of this dish. My youngest boy was the only one who liked them. Everyone else thought they were oddly sweet and the grahams didn't pair well with the flavor of the parmesan. The graham flavor was really out of place with the homemade marinara. I appreciate the ease and playfulness of this dish and my son and I had fun making it together but it really wasn't a hit with all of us. I think the meatballs would have been better with a cream-based sauce (think swedish meatballs, maybe) or even as BBQ meatballs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was the first time I have ever made meatballs. I was intrigued by the use of graham cracker crumbs in this recipe and thought I would give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by the smooth texture and the flavor. However, I was not overly impressed with the sauce. It was acceptable, but next time, I will probably use my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We loved the meatballs... they had a nice taste, not to overwhelming. Will definately make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Super tasty! Will definitely make these again. They seemed a bit mushy when making them but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My first thought was "hmmmmmmm...graham crackers...." ---- but the meatballs were good! Both boys (7,9) loved them. Smooth taste. I added chopped onions and cracked pepper. *** WALNUT size, stay consistent with the size **** Next time I will PRE-roll the meatballs so I can cook evenly. I didn't make the sauce, so I am only rating the meatballs.(I use Paul Newman sockarooni)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was excellent. The sweetness from the graham crackers wasn't overpowering, but made this stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
My husband said these were the best meatballs I ever made, and I've made a lot of meatballs! I bet they would be good as an appetizer in cocktail sauce, too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I used Cheese Itz instead of graham crackers cuz that's what I had and I found the consistency to be almost unmoldable. Maybe the graham crackers make the difference?? But I also used 16 oz of meat instead of the called for 8 oz so I dunno! I also used Motzerella cheese (again, what was in the fridge) instead of parmesean. All in all, they turned out very tasty ~ not pretty, but very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I only made the meatballs. I used 16 oz of ground turkey and added a little chopped onion and salt and pepper. These were too sweet for my family. My husband said they tasted like "meat candy" which wasn't really a great thing. Maybe if you only use 1/2 cup per 16 oz meat, they would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Loved the meatballs. Smooth texture and good flavor slightly sweet but we liked it. I definitely will make again. Didn't make the sauce. I had a jar and I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States