REAL Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Thankfully, I made this recipe the day before Thanksgiving and was able to redo everything before we had to eat the pie. It was horrible! The desert needs alot of sugar to sweeten it up. I suggest adding about 2/3c. of surgar and 1/3c. brown sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I am such a poor baker and this recipe was so easy to follow...and I got to recycle my Halloween pumpkins! The pies were delicious. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar to the mix to sweeten it up. It made two great Thanksgiving pies and I'm making one for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The recipe was short & sweet! The pie however was not sweet enough. The great thing about it was that it is perfect for diabetics. Other than the time of cleaning, cutting & cooking the pumpkin, it was easy. My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Its a great recipe. My pies ended up very good and tasty, everyone loved them. Other reviews give this pie a low rating because its not sweet enough, but thats because the recipe ask for a SUGAR PUMPKIN. If you sue a regular pumpkin then you need to add a few cups of sugar to compensate. Seems like people don't like to read things through and complain when the result is not what they wanted, even tho its their own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Sorry, but I just don't understand the high ratings for this recipe. Thank goodness I read the reviews before I made the pie, because, call me dumb, but I probably would have completely overlooked the lack of sugar. Along with this omission was the fact that no approximate measurement was given for the amount of pumpkin puree a "medium" sugar pumpkin would yield. It seemed to me that 3 cups of milk was waaaaay too much, so I added 1 1/4 to what was about 1 1/2 cups of puree, and this created a very soupy mixture. It's still in the oven as I write this, but I'm sceptical as to its outcome. Luckily I have a can of pumpkin puree in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was so disappointed in the waste of my time this recipe was. My spices were wasted, my pretty pumpkin was wasted, and these milky, bland pies were wasted. I did add sugar, more then the advised spices and less milk and the pies still tasted like a big nothing. Please take this recipe off here so other poor little pumpkins won't be sacrificed for NOTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
THis recipie was absolutley horrible. I didnt realise there wasnt any sugar until after it was in the oven, so I spent an hour just wondering if it was going to tast bad. And it did. Yuck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
i followed it step by step, my kids were so upset they waited so long to eat it and it wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe. However, yes, sugar is needed. I figured this out when I tasted the filling before baking and saad, hmm.. needs sugar. Also, maybe cut back a little on the milk. 2 cups, maybe 2 1/2, 3 is a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Excellent pie! Not only was it delicious but it was easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States