REAL Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The recipe was short & sweet! The pie however was not sweet enough. The great thing about it was that it is perfect for diabetics. Other than the time of cleaning, cutting & cooking the pumpkin, it was easy. My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Excellent pie! Not only was it delicious but it was easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I am such a poor baker and this recipe was so easy to follow...and I got to recycle my Halloween pumpkins! The pies were delicious. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar to the mix to sweeten it up. It made two great Thanksgiving pies and I'm making one for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Thankfully, I made this recipe the day before Thanksgiving and was able to redo everything before we had to eat the pie. It was horrible! The desert needs alot of sugar to sweeten it up. I suggest adding about 2/3c. of surgar and 1/3c. brown sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this recipe for my Thanksgiving dinner and am sorry to say it was a big flop. I had my brain in park from doing so much and followed the recipe to the letter, not realizing there was no sugar in it. My Mother in law and My Mother had to point it out to me. How embarrasing! The pie looked beautiful but was not sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Sorry, but I just don't understand the high ratings for this recipe. Thank goodness I read the reviews before I made the pie, because, call me dumb, but I probably would have completely overlooked the lack of sugar. Along with this omission was the fact that no approximate measurement was given for the amount of pumpkin puree a "medium" sugar pumpkin would yield. It seemed to me that 3 cups of milk was waaaaay too much, so I added 1 1/4 to what was about 1 1/2 cups of puree, and this created a very soupy mixture. It's still in the oven as I write this, but I'm sceptical as to its outcome. Luckily I have a can of pumpkin puree in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I always buy an extra pumpkin so that I can make "fresh" pies before Halloween. This was different than my usual boil method & my boyfriend really enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLACASandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I made the mistake of using this recipe to try my very first homemade pumpkin pie and I'm so terribly dissapointed. I had no idea how big a medium pumpkin should have been and I ended up having too much. And of course, where on earth is the sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
i followed it step by step, my kids were so upset they waited so long to eat it and it wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
THis recipie was absolutley horrible. I didnt realise there wasnt any sugar until after it was in the oven, so I spent an hour just wondering if it was going to tast bad. And it did. Yuck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States