REAL Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Me and a girlfriend of mine were having one of our GIRLS nights ... you know, a bit of wine and baking ... Well I was soo tired searching for the best homemade Pumkin pie recipes I could find. Finally I got tired and this is the one I followed. We made one pie from scratch and one from Libby's Pumpkin Recipe. We realized that Libby's pie called for sugar and the homemade didn't!! What? A Pumpkin pie with no sugar!? Too late! the pies were already in the oven. There must be a typo in this recipe posting. We were at this all night and had nothing to show for it except one great tasting pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I thought this was amazing! I cana't believe I made a pie for Thanksgiving! We ate with lots and lots of whipped cream on top and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Everyone waits all year for the Holidays & my desserts. it was terrible I wish I had tried it at home or read a review. I was in a hurry, now everyone knows I'm not perfect. MY FAULT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I am sooo disapointed and tired, i made 6 pies for family members and i was so disgusted at the taste i had to buy 2 at costco,i wish i had read the reviews. this is the first time that i a made a pumpkin pie and i can tell you this one almost ruined my thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
it was easy enough for my first time making a pumkin pie from scratch that i didn't screw it up i just added some sugar and it' was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
this pumpkin pie was terrible it tasted awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly M Kracht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgerton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Not hard at all just time consuming. But worth it. My family really enjoyed it. I did add a few of my own little ingredients like vanilia to get the spice flavor out but the rest was all yours. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was so disappointed in the waste of my time this recipe was. My spices were wasted, my pretty pumpkin was wasted, and these milky, bland pies were wasted. I did add sugar, more then the advised spices and less milk and the pies still tasted like a big nothing. Please take this recipe off here so other poor little pumpkins won't be sacrificed for NOTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe. However, yes, sugar is needed. I figured this out when I tasted the filling before baking and saad, hmm.. needs sugar. Also, maybe cut back a little on the milk. 2 cups, maybe 2 1/2, 3 is a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yup, much like the other posters said, I was hoodwinked. I didn't notice the lack of sugar in the recipe. The pumpkin filling was watery, but I threw it in the food processer and it incorporated very well that way. This is a good recipe if you're trying for an American indian or pilgrim kind of approach, where they probalby didn't have sugar, but we salvaged it by dribbling a mess of caramel ice cream topping on it. Maple syrup would go really well too, I think. Otherwise, this stuff isn't much good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States