REAL Homemade Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Its a great recipe. My pies ended up very good and tasty, everyone loved them. Other reviews give this pie a low rating because its not sweet enough, but thats because the recipe ask for a SUGAR PUMPKIN. If you sue a regular pumpkin then you need to add a few cups of sugar to compensate. Seems like people don't like to read things through and complain when the result is not what they wanted, even tho its their own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Me and a girlfriend of mine were having one of our GIRLS nights ... you know, a bit of wine and baking ... Well I was soo tired searching for the best homemade Pumkin pie recipes I could find. Finally I got tired and this is the one I followed. We made one pie from scratch and one from Libby's Pumpkin Recipe. We realized that Libby's pie called for sugar and the homemade didn't!! What? A Pumpkin pie with no sugar!? Too late! the pies were already in the oven. There must be a typo in this recipe posting. We were at this all night and had nothing to show for it except one great tasting pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I thought this was amazing! I cana't believe I made a pie for Thanksgiving! We ate with lots and lots of whipped cream on top and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Everyone waits all year for the Holidays & my desserts. it was terrible I wish I had tried it at home or read a review. I was in a hurry, now everyone knows I'm not perfect. MY FAULT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I am sooo disapointed and tired, i made 6 pies for family members and i was so disgusted at the taste i had to buy 2 at costco,i wish i had read the reviews. this is the first time that i a made a pumpkin pie and i can tell you this one almost ruined my thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
it was easy enough for my first time making a pumkin pie from scratch that i didn't screw it up i just added some sugar and it' was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
this pumpkin pie was terrible it tasted awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly M Kracht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgerton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Not hard at all just time consuming. But worth it. My family really enjoyed it. I did add a few of my own little ingredients like vanilia to get the spice flavor out but the rest was all yours. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was so disappointed in the waste of my time this recipe was. My spices were wasted, my pretty pumpkin was wasted, and these milky, bland pies were wasted. I did add sugar, more then the advised spices and less milk and the pies still tasted like a big nothing. Please take this recipe off here so other poor little pumpkins won't be sacrificed for NOTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe. However, yes, sugar is needed. I figured this out when I tasted the filling before baking and saad, hmm.. needs sugar. Also, maybe cut back a little on the milk. 2 cups, maybe 2 1/2, 3 is a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States