R. B. Miller's Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. My husband loves gyro's and has eaten them in many different countries. He says the taste rivals those. I made no changes other than I used already ground lamb. Still ran it through the meat grinder. Taste and texture were great. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you R.B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The only changes I made were to add a little fresh mint, and I decreased the rosemary and marjoram. The meat turned out a little dry but that was nothing that a drizzle of tzatziki sauce couldn't fix. Served it sliced in pitas with tomato, onion and shredded lettuce. Very good. Thanks, R B Miller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I am about 3 months in to teaching myself how to ccok... I was worried about this recipe - but it turned out wonderful! i used my hands to mix the lamb & beef (i bought ground lamb since i dont' have a meat grinder) wholefoods will actually grind your lamb for you at the meat counter. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
An awesome gyro meat. Time consuming, but the steps were easier to follow than other recipes I'd found and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This turned out great. I used a bit less rosemary as I'm not crazy about it. It took a bit of time to make but was completely worth it. My family and friends love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I did add a 1/2 tsp of oregano and thyme and didn't refrigerate overnight and it turned out just fine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. When I turned out the loaf for the second baking, I kept it inverted and it made the meat very juicy, not dry. I mean, it's not what you get from a rotisserie, but the flavor is the same. I made tzatziki on the side and added chopped tomato,red onion,lettuce and stuffed into pita. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States