Quinoa with Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Quinoa is one of my favorite side dishes. You can add any vegetables you feel compliment the main course. I did toast the quinoa in a pan first. I feel it gives the quinoa a nuttier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was my first attempt at quinoa, and I have to say it was pretty good! I did, however, follow the package instructions for cooking the quinoa, which said to use 2 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa and simmer until the quinoa had absorbed all the liquid. Boiling it in an extra cup of liquid and then draining just didn't make any sense to me when I could just cook it like rice, hence the reason I gave the recipe only four stars. I also added some Better than Bouillon chicken base for a little added flavor, and had to play around a bit with the veggies as I didn't have red bell pepper or green onions on hand. In the end, I wound up using canned corn, and fresh tomatoes, chives, and carrots from our garden that needed to be used up. Threw in some basil and thyme instead of oregano when I couldn't find it in my spice cabinet, but kept the rest of the spices the same. Yum! So good! And honestly, I think the cumin and garlic made this dish! This will definitely be a repeat in my kitchen! Thanks for giving me a starting point to use up what I had on hand! A great first experience with quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Needed more flavor - add more seasoning or chicken broth next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I am a vegetarian and added garbanzo beans to add even more protein. Edamame is also a thought. I was very skeptical over the cumin and oregano combination but went for it anyway and I am so glad that I did. My skepticism was probably due to my lack of experience with cooking but I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I used red peppers and corn and it turned out awesome! Served with grilled chicken! Yummy!! We haven't been that impressed with quinoa, but we will be serving it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaycee Farrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Good, easy recipe for quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was my first time making quinoa and this recipe was delish. I followed the recipe exactly, except I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I used zucchini, red pepper, corn and red onion, plus a little more oregano. I mixed the left overs with some feta, chopped tomato and baby spinach and put it in a pita for lunch. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a good basic recipe for "Keen-wah". I have been making quinoa for quite some time and find it to be very healthy. This recipe is going to be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Quinoa is pronounced Keen-Way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very yummy. I used a frozen pepper onion blend and frozen corn and added some curry to the seasoning. Also added about 10 almonds which I chopped and boiled for a few minutes before adding. I was going to just chop them and put them in to cook with the quinoa but I forgot so I added later. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States