Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love finding new recipes using quinoa. This one was a little spicy for me. Next time I'll make the following modifications: 1, replace ¼ t cayenne with ¼ t cinnamon (cinnamon is the perfect companion for sweet potatoes and pecans); 2, begin preparing and cooking the vegetables first (before cooking the quinoa); 3, add an extra tablespoon of olive oil prior to adding the mushrooms, sweet potatoes and spices; 4, five minutes into cooking the vegetables add ¼ cup of water to the vegetables. I loved this so much, I’m thinking of adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. Thank you lep413 for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Overall a good and healthy recipe. I just thought it need a bit more flavor so I sprinkled in a little Goya Adobo seasonings. It was good but; still needed a little something. Next time I think I will use chicken or veggie broth to cook the quinoa. I diced the sweet potato very small and added frozen peas for extra color and texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is an excellent vegetarian/vegan dish! Very flavorful. I used 1 1/2 cups of portabella mushrooms, added 1/4 water to the vegetable pan before covering, and increased the cayenne pepper just a bit, which gave this a nice kick. Some fresh spinach added into the vegatable pan in the last 5 minutes would also be great! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was my first time making quinoa and I thought this was a pretty good dish. Eating quinoa is kind of like eating brown rice. I used a little less cayenne than called for and added just a dash of cinnamon. It's a nice combination of sweet, savory and spicy--definitely an interesting and out of the ordinary combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was the first time I've tried quinoa and it was really good. Even my picky husband enjoyed it. I used regular mushrooms since thats what I had on hand and I didn't use the nuts. It was a little too spicy for me, but thats the way my husband likes it! I will definetly make this again, maybe next time I will try and add extra veggies and a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used 1 cup quinoa & 2 cups of water (seasoned with 1/2 packet of onion soup mix). I rinsed the quinoa before toasting. I was worried when it was done because the quinoa seemed 'goupy'. I made this recipe for work-week lunches. I ate this the next day at room temperature and it was a really good lunch with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful! My first time trying quinoa and I really enjoyed this. I did add a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Definitely a keeper! We loved it! I substituted paprika for cayenne. We were pretty hungry so I added some spicy Italian chicken sausage, although it'd be great meatless too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
"one onion' is a loose measure and apparently my onion was too big (and we LOVE onions at our house). Here are a few tips/things I'll try next time: TIME SAVER: Microwave your sweet potato and then add it to the pot so you don't to wait 20 mins. Worked out great. KID FRIENDLY: Subtract cayenne and mushrooms, add cinnamon and dried cranberries; use 1/2 an onion not a whole MONEY SAVER: Use Craisins instead of dried cranberries Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I still love the quinoa with corn and black beans from this site the best but this is a close second. After reading reviews I used low sodium chicken broth to cook my quinoa, omitted the salt and added a little bit of broth to the veggies so they wouldn't stick to the pan. I halved the cayenne pepper and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also doubled the amount of quinoa, sweet potatoes and mushrooms. (Make sure to increase amount of broth used to cook the doubled quinoa). After everything was done cooking I mixed the quinoa in with the veggies. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States