Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was the first time I've tried quinoa and it was really good. Even my picky husband enjoyed it. I used regular mushrooms since thats what I had on hand and I didn't use the nuts. It was a little too spicy for me, but thats the way my husband likes it! I will definetly make this again, maybe next time I will try and add extra veggies and a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and I'm glad I tried it this recipe is great, simple and easy to make and lends itself well to substitutions/improvisation thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was very good, and easy to make. i'd never cooked/tasted quinoa before, and was pleased; it did however take more like 12-13 minutes for my quinoa to cook instead of 20. i added extra cayenne for more heat, but that's simply personal taste; thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have been meaning to try quinoa for a long time, and am so happy that I tried it with this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is an excellent vegetarian/vegan dish! Very flavorful. I used 1 1/2 cups of portabella mushrooms, added 1/4 water to the vegetable pan before covering, and increased the cayenne pepper just a bit, which gave this a nice kick. Some fresh spinach added into the vegatable pan in the last 5 minutes would also be great! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We all really liked this, including my 6 and 2 year olds! I did use cumin instead of cayenne, but only because my boys are still "new" to spice, but this is a great recipe that invites experimentation, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Overall a good and healthy recipe. I just thought it need a bit more flavor so I sprinkled in a little Goya Adobo seasonings. It was good but; still needed a little something. Next time I think I will use chicken or veggie broth to cook the quinoa. I diced the sweet potato very small and added frozen peas for extra color and texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband would definitely NOT eat this, and I couldn't blame him. I found it edible with some sharp cheddar on top, but not good. Funny, though, our 2 year old daughter loved it, so I guess I've gotta give it at least two stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very easy, but a bit spicy, and though it's tasty, it needs something I can't quite put my finger on. This one's absolutely a keeper, it just needs to be toyed with a bit for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Definitely a keeper! We loved it! I substituted paprika for cayenne. We were pretty hungry so I added some spicy Italian chicken sausage, although it'd be great meatless too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States