Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was really shocked at how good this recipe was! It's not a combination I would have expected to be this savory and filling. We served it as a main dish with a side salad and it made a great dinner. I will steam a little more quinoa next time to stretch it out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
To my surprise this was very good. We have been trying out new recipes and this one definately goes into my recipe box. The only addtion I made to the dish was adding a small amount of agave for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good, healthy side dish. I cooked the quinoa in low sodium chicken broth and saved time by buying a bag of raw sweet potato sticks from Trader Joes that could be quickly diced. I also had a really big shallot and used that instead of the onion, but either one would work just fine. Decided to make it again a couple of weeks later, but oh no! forgot the sweet potatoes. Easy fix with a big handful of shredded carrots we use for salads. Blended perfectly with the onions and mushrooms, and that little zing of cayenne was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I couldn't find quinoa at either of the two grocery stores I tried (I think I need to go to a Whole Foods) so I substituted 1/2 c. of cooked brown rice in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I used mini bella mushrooms in place of crimini (couldn't find them either). My boyfriend and I really loved this dish with the alterations, but I will be making it again with the correct ingredients at some point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Doubled the recipe and it came out great. Added half white and half crimini mushrooms and added more cayenne to make it a bit more spicy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
"one onion' is a loose measure and apparently my onion was too big (and we LOVE onions at our house). Here are a few tips/things I'll try next time: TIME SAVER: Microwave your sweet potato and then add it to the pot so you don't to wait 20 mins. Worked out great. KID FRIENDLY: Subtract cayenne and mushrooms, add cinnamon and dried cranberries; use 1/2 an onion not a whole MONEY SAVER: Use Craisins instead of dried cranberries Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Made this for lunch today. Used veggie stock instead of evoo and water. Came out perfect. Did add some spinach at the end to wilt. Certainly made for a full meal deal. My husband loved it and thought it very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Love this dish! I left out the mushrooms and cayenne and added 1/8 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup of chopped dried cranberries - and served it underneath the Fragrant Chicken Curry recipe from this site. Yummy and so healthy! Be sure to rinse your quinoa in cold water before cooking - it takes the bitter flavor away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yum! I added a sprinkle of turmeric and a little cinnamon for those people who are looking for it to have a little something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This turned out fabulous even though I didn't have an onion. Warm, yummy, healthy, easy-on-the-tummy comfort food :) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States