Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I'm not sure what I think of this one. Admitedly, I subbed the cayenne with cinnamon to make it more kid friendly but it seemed like it was a bit blah. I wasn't shy with the onion or garlic so I expected it to have more flavor. But, I still like the concept and think it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Pretty good but a bit bland. I added some cinnamon like mentioned and sauteed chicken. There was something missing. Next time I am going to add a chunked up apple and maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I like all the ingredients in this, but it needs a sauce so something to make it interesting. The cayenne adds heat, but other than that there isn't anything that gives this a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My family LOVED this! So, so good! I used pre-sliced criminis...an 8 oz package, and increased the quinoa to one cup with 2 cups water. I made the sweet potato/mushroom mixture in advance (be careful, it will turn to mush if you cook it for 20 mins). This may sound odd, but I added a pinch of apple pie spice to the sweet potato mixture...just added a depth and warmth to the overall flavor. Also, I was always taught to rinse your quinoa well before using to remove the resin, which can make it bitter. This will be a regular in my house...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Love this recipe!! I cooked the quinoa in vegetable stock instead of water which added a ton of flavor. I also added some cumin. Next time I would probably add more quinoa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yummy comfort food!! I made it according to the recipe, but next time I will add chicken broth instead of water as the vegetables are cooking. I also sprinkled it with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginna C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. I replaced the pecans for almond. Turns our great. Great for first time quinoa recipes! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my second attempt at quinoa and had a MUCH better outcome. I added only a dash of cyanne due to the kids. My kids picky kid, picked out the mushrooms and onion, but 3 year-old ate it up. My husband (who doesn't care for mushrooms) said that it was good. Would make again. Also, the pecans were a perfect addition...they are a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Used a cup of quinoa and 2 cups of chicken broth and then followed the recipe as is. 20 minutest o cook the sweet potatoes was too long--about 12 minutes should do it. Was really fantastic, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States