Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I am going to be making this recipe for years and years to come! I added more quinoa though- I love it and there wasn't quite enough in this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Barber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great combination of flavors and use of quinoa but we felt it was lacking something...wanted to have a sauce or something like that over it. Not sure I would make again without coming up with what to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This dish was fantastic! The only thing I did differently was added some diced apple. I served it at a dinner party with grilled pork tenderloin, spinach side salad and rolls. Everyone LOVED this dish - there were no leftovers, to my husband's disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent and unique dish! I did make a few additions. I cooked the quinoa in beef broth (serving with steaks), added just a little bit of chipotle chili powder for some smokiness, added a dash of cinnamon as suggested by other reviewers, splashed some balsamic vinegar in with the veggies as they were cooking (it didn't stand out in the finished product, but I do think it complemented the sweetness of the potatoes), and tossed in some fresh spinach at the very end. I love finding such a healthy side dish with so much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I wasn't sure what I could make myself for dinner with a few leftover mushrooms on the brink of going bad and a small sweet potato, so I decided to search allrecipes, and I'm so glad I did because it brought me to this great recipe! The only things I changed were omitting the salt and replacing the cooking water with broth instead, and dumping the cooked quinoa into the vegetable mixture once everything was cooked (rather than using it as a bed for the veggies). It was very good. Possibly a little spicy for some people's tastes, but I loved it. If you find it too hot, try serving it with a dollop of plain yogurt or sour cream (it will help cut the heat). Thanks for a lovely dinner idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used 1 cup quinoa & 2 cups of water (seasoned with 1/2 packet of onion soup mix). I rinsed the quinoa before toasting. I was worried when it was done because the quinoa seemed 'goupy'. I made this recipe for work-week lunches. I ate this the next day at room temperature and it was a really good lunch with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Wonderful! My first time trying quinoa and I really enjoyed this. I did add a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good! Omitted cayenne pepper and used shallots - loved the flavor. Even better as a cold dish. The next day I put this in a wrap with mango chutney and grilled chicken and found my new lunch for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I'm not sure what I think of this one. Admitedly, I subbed the cayenne with cinnamon to make it more kid friendly but it seemed like it was a bit blah. I wasn't shy with the onion or garlic so I expected it to have more flavor. But, I still like the concept and think it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Pretty good but a bit bland. I added some cinnamon like mentioned and sauteed chicken. There was something missing. Next time I am going to add a chunked up apple and maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States