Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This turned out fabulous even though I didn't have an onion. Warm, yummy, healthy, easy-on-the-tummy comfort food :) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. I used portobello mushrooms because that is what I had in the fridge. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Instead of cayenne I added canned chipotle peppers in adobe sauce. These peppers are VERY spicy, use sparingly. I halved the original recipe portion and only used one small pepper, discarded seeds and chopped very fine. It added the perfect smokey kick to this recipe. I have recently incorporated quinoa into my diet and this is a great recipe for the fall, very earthy with the mushrooms and toasted pecans. And I think any winter squash would be great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good. Make again. Just a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Awesome! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out fantastic. The sweet potatoes and pecans give this dish plenty of flavor. I did have to add water to keep the vegetables from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I love this recipe. My kids do not go for spicy things so I used cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and agave nectar instead of cayenne. It went welll with the sweet potato...next time Ill even season the quenoa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love finding new recipes using quinoa. This one was a little spicy for me. Next time I'll make the following modifications: 1, replace ¼ t cayenne with ¼ t cinnamon (cinnamon is the perfect companion for sweet potatoes and pecans); 2, begin preparing and cooking the vegetables first (before cooking the quinoa); 3, add an extra tablespoon of olive oil prior to adding the mushrooms, sweet potatoes and spices; 4, five minutes into cooking the vegetables add ¼ cup of water to the vegetables. I loved this so much, I’m thinking of adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. Thank you lep413 for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I was really concerned until I mixed everything together. Then the flavors mixed just right and it turned our great! Nice vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a very healthy recipe, but overral this dish was ok. I thought the sweet potato was soggy and it didn't have much flavor. I would add different veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Really good stuff! Turned out better than I expected - even my partner liked it! And he's rarely into things that's out of the norm (i.e. other than pasta, roast meat, veges, beans, chips etc). I added peas to give it some colour. Also, added a couple of sticks of celery which seems to really add that extra something that seems missing otherwise...also tossed in a couple of small fresh chillies in for an extra spice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States