Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My husband had a second helping of this and he hates grains! This is very tasty. I used red quinoa and I think that next time I will use fresh peas for more of a color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
could eat this all day. may add more peas to the mix next time. the cheese really makes this a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Tasty dish, easy to make! I cooked the onions and garlic (and added more of both) at the same time as the quinoa. I used dry thyme instead of fresh, vegetable broth instead of chicken, more peas than what the recipe calls for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I realy enjoyed the quinoa. I'd read that some of the other readers thought that it was a bit salty. I only sprinkled the cheese on top and it came out deliciously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a fun exotic first time for us trying Quinoa, nice introduction! We added 1t turmeric and left out the thyme and pepper. We look forward to sharing at our next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncodonnell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe for the most part. Instead of fresh thyme I used dried, 1 tbsp. of dried parsley, and 1 cup of frozen peas. I also used parmesan cheese since that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make this again! I may add some chick peas next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Prepared this dish tonight along with a chicken enchilada dish I found on here also. One of my favorite quinoa dishes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
To rinse or not to rinse? RINSE! If you have a mesh strainer, rinse thoroughly and then get as much water out as possible by shaking off the strainer and then setting the strainer on a folded paper towel to draw off the remaining water. It does make a difference with the flavor. Proceed as called for in this recipe. My quinoa roasted in the butter just fine after rinsing. This recipe is very good though I found that it lacked some flavor. Rather than add a bunch of spices to perk it up, I diced about a cup of mushrooms and sauteed them with a little butter, garlic, salt & pepper. It was just the ticket! Also, I used a heaping cup of frozen peas. I left out the thyme because I didn't think it was meant for this dish and I'm glad I did. This is a great recipe and one I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori likes to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very nice and easy to make side dish. Like others have said, I'd put the frozen peas in for the last five minutes of cooking only. I put in some cumin, and I think it would be good without it too. I had chicken stock (instead of broth) on hand and it worked very nicely. I'll def be making this again, especially since I'm trying to replace rice with quinoa in all our food! note to self: add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Delicious and simple, I did use veggie broth since I'm a vegetarian but other than that I followed the recipe and enjoyed every bite. It's a great side dish, but other veggies and spices could easily be added to make it a main dish. The leftovers are perfect for a filling lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States