Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe for the most part. Instead of fresh thyme I used dried, 1 tbsp. of dried parsley, and 1 cup of frozen peas. I also used parmesan cheese since that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make this again! I may add some chick peas next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Prepared this dish tonight along with a chicken enchilada dish I found on here also. One of my favorite quinoa dishes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
To rinse or not to rinse? RINSE! If you have a mesh strainer, rinse thoroughly and then get as much water out as possible by shaking off the strainer and then setting the strainer on a folded paper towel to draw off the remaining water. It does make a difference with the flavor. Proceed as called for in this recipe. My quinoa roasted in the butter just fine after rinsing. This recipe is very good though I found that it lacked some flavor. Rather than add a bunch of spices to perk it up, I diced about a cup of mushrooms and sauteed them with a little butter, garlic, salt & pepper. It was just the ticket! Also, I used a heaping cup of frozen peas. I left out the thyme because I didn't think it was meant for this dish and I'm glad I did. This is a great recipe and one I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori likes to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very nice and easy to make side dish. Like others have said, I'd put the frozen peas in for the last five minutes of cooking only. I put in some cumin, and I think it would be good without it too. I had chicken stock (instead of broth) on hand and it worked very nicely. I'll def be making this again, especially since I'm trying to replace rice with quinoa in all our food! note to self: add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Delicious and simple, I did use veggie broth since I'm a vegetarian but other than that I followed the recipe and enjoyed every bite. It's a great side dish, but other veggies and spices could easily be added to make it a main dish. The leftovers are perfect for a filling lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
yummm made this tonight i only tasted it as i didnt eat yet and it is GOODDDD ... i added some raisins too just because i can never not add "something" :) it is really delish and cant wait til the chicken is done and the rest of dinner !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I thought the thyme overpowered the dish. Was way to herby for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent recipe. Added tomatoes and mushrooms, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fast, easy, healthy and delicious . . . loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
i thought it was just ok. a little bland. i feel good about myself though after eating. i would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyms8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States