Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wonderful side dish! I followed the instructions exactly except I used chicken stock-I think it adds more flavor and used a shallot for milder onion flavor. My whole family loved it-they are pretty picky too. Next time I'll add more peas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Sounds good and I want to try it. But it says nothing about rinsing the quinoa so that the bitter saponins are removed. (Some quinoa, sold in North America, is pre-rinsed, but some is not...) Let's be careful out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I'm a self admitted tinkerer. Can't leave a recipe alone- mine included. That being said, this recipe is fantastic and here's what I did (no disrespect to the author). I added 4 sprigs fresh thyme ('cuz I had it), 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp grnd coriander, cayenne pepper and a few more peas (1 cup). This was a side dish for Baked Falafel and was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
So, I misread the recipe (didn't have on my glasses) and put the cheese in with the peas. So, I am rating on the flavor. I didn't rinse the quinoa first because I thought wet toasted quinoa sounded like a bad idea. The toasting gave it a richer nutty flavor. Thanks for the idea and I will use this technique again. I rated on the flavor since I messed up the cheese. Nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
My first time to make quinoa, it was easy and tasted great! I didn't have fresh thyme, used ground. I imagine it would taste even better with fresh herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this yesterday afternoon as a snack for my kids. It was delicious. My 18 month old gobbled it up. I would add more peas next time and not add them until the quinoa was almost cooked. I prefer my peas bright green and just barely cooked. I might also saute the onion and garlic in the butter while the quinoa was roasting, just to get more flavor from the garlic and onions. I thought this was very similar to risotto and might add shrimp next time to make it a full meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very simple and good! I made some minor adjustments - used dried italian herbs instead of fresh thyme, garlic salt and threw in some asparagus I cut into bit-sized pieces. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am new to Quinoa, tried it once and did not like it. But this was great. I made a few changes: added sauted mushrooms and substituded canned asparagus for the peas. I did not have the parmesian cheese called for so I substituded Kraft parmesian cheese. It was wonderful. Will definately cook again. Thank you for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterofcooking7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this dish! I made this for a potluck feast and it was a huge hit. Next time I make it tho, I will cut the cheese in half. It was very salty, so that may have been from the veggie broth, but the cheese was a little too strong for me. I added more quinoa that was cooked in plain water to balance it out and that did the trick. The next day for lunch, we fried some up in a pan with an egg, and put sliced tomatoes on top for a great brunch. Also, it's good in a tortilla with chopped tomatoes and cucumber on it. This is such a versatile "comfort food" combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is my favorite quinoa dish now! I made the changes suggested by another review and added 1/2 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, more thyme and it was excellent. This is definitely going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States