Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wonderful side dish! I followed the instructions exactly except I used chicken stock-I think it adds more flavor and used a shallot for milder onion flavor. My whole family loved it-they are pretty picky too. Next time I'll add more peas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Sounds good and I want to try it. But it says nothing about rinsing the quinoa so that the bitter saponins are removed. (Some quinoa, sold in North America, is pre-rinsed, but some is not...) Let's be careful out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice G. Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I'm a self admitted tinkerer. Can't leave a recipe alone- mine included. That being said, this recipe is fantastic and here's what I did (no disrespect to the author). I added 4 sprigs fresh thyme ('cuz I had it), 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp grnd coriander, cayenne pepper and a few more peas (1 cup). This was a side dish for Baked Falafel and was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
So, I misread the recipe (didn't have on my glasses) and put the cheese in with the peas. So, I am rating on the flavor. I didn't rinse the quinoa first because I thought wet toasted quinoa sounded like a bad idea. The toasting gave it a richer nutty flavor. Thanks for the idea and I will use this technique again. I rated on the flavor since I messed up the cheese. Nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
My first time to make quinoa, it was easy and tasted great! I didn't have fresh thyme, used ground. I imagine it would taste even better with fresh herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this yesterday afternoon as a snack for my kids. It was delicious. My 18 month old gobbled it up. I would add more peas next time and not add them until the quinoa was almost cooked. I prefer my peas bright green and just barely cooked. I might also saute the onion and garlic in the butter while the quinoa was roasting, just to get more flavor from the garlic and onions. I thought this was very similar to risotto and might add shrimp next time to make it a full meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very simple and good! I made some minor adjustments - used dried italian herbs instead of fresh thyme, garlic salt and threw in some asparagus I cut into bit-sized pieces. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am new to Quinoa, tried it once and did not like it. But this was great. I made a few changes: added sauted mushrooms and substituded canned asparagus for the peas. I did not have the parmesian cheese called for so I substituded Kraft parmesian cheese. It was wonderful. Will definately cook again. Thank you for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterofcooking7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this dish! I made this for a potluck feast and it was a huge hit. Next time I make it tho, I will cut the cheese in half. It was very salty, so that may have been from the veggie broth, but the cheese was a little too strong for me. I added more quinoa that was cooked in plain water to balance it out and that did the trick. The next day for lunch, we fried some up in a pan with an egg, and put sliced tomatoes on top for a great brunch. Also, it's good in a tortilla with chopped tomatoes and cucumber on it. This is such a versatile "comfort food" combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is my favorite quinoa dish now! I made the changes suggested by another review and added 1/2 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, more thyme and it was excellent. This is definitely going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States