Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wonderful side dish! I followed the instructions exactly except I used chicken stock-I think it adds more flavor and used a shallot for milder onion flavor. My whole family loved it-they are pretty picky too. Next time I'll add more peas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I'm a self admitted tinkerer. Can't leave a recipe alone- mine included. That being said, this recipe is fantastic and here's what I did (no disrespect to the author). I added 4 sprigs fresh thyme ('cuz I had it), 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp grnd coriander, cayenne pepper and a few more peas (1 cup). This was a side dish for Baked Falafel and was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this yesterday afternoon as a snack for my kids. It was delicious. My 18 month old gobbled it up. I would add more peas next time and not add them until the quinoa was almost cooked. I prefer my peas bright green and just barely cooked. I might also saute the onion and garlic in the butter while the quinoa was roasting, just to get more flavor from the garlic and onions. I thought this was very similar to risotto and might add shrimp next time to make it a full meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am new to Quinoa, tried it once and did not like it. But this was great. I made a few changes: added sauted mushrooms and substituded canned asparagus for the peas. I did not have the parmesian cheese called for so I substituded Kraft parmesian cheese. It was wonderful. Will definately cook again. Thank you for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterofcooking7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this dish! I made this for a potluck feast and it was a huge hit. Next time I make it tho, I will cut the cheese in half. It was very salty, so that may have been from the veggie broth, but the cheese was a little too strong for me. I added more quinoa that was cooked in plain water to balance it out and that did the trick. The next day for lunch, we fried some up in a pan with an egg, and put sliced tomatoes on top for a great brunch. Also, it's good in a tortilla with chopped tomatoes and cucumber on it. This is such a versatile "comfort food" combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is my favorite quinoa dish now! I made the changes suggested by another review and added 1/2 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, more thyme and it was excellent. This is definitely going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is an awesome quinoa recipe. Cooking the quinoa with the onion and spices really ups the flavor. I always cook quinoa with chicken broth but this recipe is even better! I love, love, LOVE it. Just don't add the peas as early as it says unless you like overcooked, mushy peas. Maybe throw them in the last 5 minutes. I make this all the time and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My 18 month old and I eat the entire pot, every time. Love this. I think I use a bit less pecorino, but it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I don't comment on recipes very often but I felt compelled to comment on this one. This recipe was DELICIOUS! I am new to cooking quinoa and have tried several recipes that turned out ok but this one was the keeper. My husband and son also thought it was great and asked for it again. I read previous comments and also added 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp of coriander and it kicked it up just right. I also used a whole cup of frozen peas and added them at to the quinoa for the last 5 minutes of cooking. The peas remained firm that way. LOVED this recipe. Don't hesitate to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States