Quinoa with Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I make this almost every week and I love it. This is what I do...I rinse the quinoa (some kinds you don't need to but the kind I buy you do), I add a teaspoon of coriander and cumin, and I add two cups of peas but not till the last 5 minutes of cook time so that they still have a little crunch. This is an awesome toddler food - my 1 year old loves this. Also - don't substitute the cheese. I've used parmesan just because I had it on hand and the pecorino is a much better flavor. I think I add more than a half a cup (ok, I know do but I tell myself it's there abouts). Wonderful recipe and it keeps in the fridge really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was enjoyable, but really nothing to make it stand out. I wish I would have waited to add the peas until closer to the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Loved the flavor of the toasted quinoa. Didn't have fresh thyme or parsley, so mixed 1/4 tsp thyme and 2 tsp parsley in with stock. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
So good, wow! Made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great flavor, but cooking the peas with the quinoa makes them a little gray & not so appetizing. Next time, I'll put the peas in when the quinoa is almost finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I served this as a healthy grain and veggie side dish to a fish meal. It was VERY tasty. The only things I tinkered with was I increased the amount of frozen veggies to 2c and used mixed veggies as that's what I had on hand. Also, i cut out the cheese at the end to save on calories. VERY tasty. I did rinse the quinoa first and cooked it in veggie broth. Cooking it in plain water doesn't give quinoa any taste. Thanks XTinaU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was delicious and easy. Yay, we can start eating quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Amazing. I used a blend of Italian cheeses. Best quinoa recipe I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is only the third recipe I've ever made with quinoa and it was a great one. It's the first time my family didn't think it tasted, felt or looked funny. Took some other suggestions and sauteed the onions and garlic in with the melted better and left out the herbs because I didn't have any fresh and forgot to throw in any dried. Probably only used about 1/4 cup of the Romano and stirred it all in; didn't want to dirty another dish. Served it with Easy & Elegant Pork Tenderloin and Sweet & Spicy Sweet Potatoes, both from this site. Fabulous meal, enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My husband had a second helping of this and he hates grains! This is very tasty. I used red quinoa and I think that next time I will use fresh peas for more of a color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States