Quinoa with Peas and Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is very enjoyable. I decided to make this last-minute, so I had to substitute, some from necessity and some for preference. I had cherry tomatoes that needed to be used so I roasted those instead of using the canned, diced tomatoes...had about 4 cups before roasting, and I did roast them until they were browned a bit. And I had no vegetable broth so I subbed with chicken broth. I despise celery, so I omitted that and added some shredded carrots. I sauteed my onions until they were browned a bit and then dumped everything in into my rice cooker. I also had no evaporated milk but did have a half cup of heavy cream to use up, so in it went! :) Based on other reviews, I added quite a bit more cheese, and I would definitely recommend doing that. And I also liked the amount of tomatoes I added. This is a great base recipe that you can tailor to your preferences with veggies. I will definitely add more next time, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It works nicely with sun dried tomatoes instead of using roasted fresh tomatoes. I used olive oil instead of coconut oil and a mixture of cream cheese and milk instead of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coribs
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Five stars as made with many of the other reviewers suggestions; including replacing chicken broth for veggie broth and using mushrooms/grated carrots instead of celery. Also used some extra cheese! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I thought this was a pretty good recipe, but it seemed a little bland. The people I had over for dinner loved it and plan on making it themselves, but my boyfriend and I weren't all that impressed. However I loved the consistency of it, so I think I will try it again and add some kick to it. I didn't have coconut oil so I used vegetable, and I didn't have the evaporated milk so I omited it. Next time I think I'll add diced chilies, more tomatoes, wine, and use olive oil. But it was a great recipe for quinoa all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We are just beginning to venture out and eat helthier "rice type" things. I like quinoa and made this for the family. I used a 28 oz can of the tomatoes and they were fantastic roasted in the oven...don't skip that step, it makes a big difference. And I added a little more parm cheese than the recipe stated. and used fat free half and half. I had it on the side of a pork dinner and it was even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I found this recipe when I was searching for ways to cook with coconut oil - I am pregnant and coconut oil is suppose to be a "super food" for pregnancy. This is an awesome quinoa dish! Really feels like eating comfort food but is pretty healthy; this has become a winter staple for us. As suggested by other reviewers, I added more tomatoes and peas. I also added some roasted asparagus (roasted in oven at 400 with some olive oil and sea salt) then cut in pieces and added at the same time as peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by todcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very yummy! I thought all of the different flavors blended well together. I didn't alter the recipe at all, and it made great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I'm a little perplexed by all the rave reviews. This is OK, but not better. I agree with the reviewer who recommended doubling the tomatoes. They kinda shrivel up in the oven and disappear once mixed into the quinoa. I will do that if I make this again, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
What a nice flavor. You don't even realize there is no meat in this dish. We had with with Cajun Sweet Potatoes for a delicious complete vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States