Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Pretty yummy sidedish! I made it with 1/2 cup of rinsed quinoa, so scaled everything accordingly -- except I only used 3/4 cup of broth (to prevent the soupiness mentioned by other reviewers). For the other ingredients, I used 4 mushrooms, 1/3 onion and 1 whole clove of garlic. With these changes, I was able to make it using the cooking time listed in the recipe. Omitted Parmesan cheese as I didn't have any, but am sure it would be a good addition for the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I'll be honest and say that we were very reluctant to trying Quinoa because we've never had it before! However, we liked it! As you can tell my screen name, Rice is my favorite food. This is a pretty good subsitute...not the same! But it's a good sub and we will use again. I followed the reciped exactly, but did add a dash of kosher salt. This a good 'first timer' recipe and I'm looking forward to using it in other recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
this recipe was fabulous!! I just recently heard of quinoa and was eager to try it. I made it with tri tip for my Easter meal and everyone loved it! For years I've been serving plain white rice with everything, now I will definitely make quinoa instead! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Really liked this. Bought a large bag of quinoa and didn't know how to cook it. I added pesto to the sautee and after browning the quinoa, and adding the broth, I cooked with the sauteed veggies for 20 mins. Great as a healthier "pilaf." Note: don't use salt or powdered bullion. Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Nice. This is my first time trying Quinoa and it was a great and easy recipe. The only change I made was adding some asparagus to up the veggie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
loved this! even my picky son did. it was so easy to make and it made plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I like the idea of mushrooms to make quinoa a more savory dish than a foofy one. I added some celery leaves to the mushrooms and onions for flavor and tons of pepper but only because I like it that way. I used veg broth instead of chicken because I am a vegan and obviously no cheese. I appreciated this recipe most because it got me thinking and on the right track to a delicious winter meal. Thank you for posting. (by the way, the quinoa did take longer than ten min to cook... almost double that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very tasty. I added some thyme and used vegetable broth instead of chicked and simmered it for 20 minutes instead of 10. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy! The quinoa has to be cooked for 20 min not 10; I think that was a typo. I substitute olive oil for the butter and used salted water with a bay leaf and a couple dashes on Braggs seasoning instead of chicken broth, as I didnt have any and wanted to keep in vegetarian. I added a bit of chees but it wasnt necessary. It was close to risotto, but much healthier. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Lacking flavor.....not sure how I could've fixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States