Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was reduced to 2 servings. I did leave off the cheese as I used this as a base to serve broiled fish fillets. The mushrooms add a nice flavor to the finished product. The cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was my introduction to quinoa and it was a good one! I think the ratio of liquid to quinoa was about right for where I live, but it's very dry here in Denver. Also, I agree with another reviewer who thought the 10 minute simmer time was a typo. I simmered it for 20 minutes and it absorbed nearly all the liquid. The remaining liquid combined with the cheese and vegetables tomake a nice sauce. I also added one carrot finely chopped, and about 1/4 zucchini finely chopped. I felt the dish needed some color and the extra flavor really added to the dish. I also used a red onion, both for color and flavor. A darn good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyberkrime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this one according to the instructions (with a slight embellishment on the cheese and added pepper to taste). I had no problem with the liquid to dry ratio nor cook time. It's an earthy tasting dish, which is great for a comfort food that is very high in protein. I only gave it three stars because it wasn't the kind of slap-you-across-the-face deliciousness that I have found in other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was my 1st time coking quinoa and I really enjoyed it. My whole family ate it, including a 3 year old who won't eat rice and 10 month old twins! I followed the recipe exactly and probably wouldn't change anything. I just need to get used to quinoa and would like to experiment with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Really great recipe! It's my favorite way to eat quinoa so far ... will definitely be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Since I'm used to the really good quinoa at Whole Foods, I guess a little disappointed. A little bland for my taste. Hopefully, I can find one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Read the reviews and should have cut the broth by 1/2 cup... bit too much. I didn't have onion or cheese but did this with garlic, mushroom and some asparagus I needed to use up. YUM! Total winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owlison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Hubby loved it, daughter and I... Guess it's an acquired taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Awesome recipe this was my first taste of quinoa and it is tasty I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States