Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Only one word to add: delicious!! Cut the calories by not using butter and just cooked the quinoa like the package suggests. Also only used about 1tsp. of oil vs. 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I am surprised to say that I really really enjoyed this! I added 12 ounces of mushrooms instead of 8 and cooked the quiona for about 15 minutes. Possibly a bit more. At 10 minutes it still had TONS of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ciara_williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I prepared this recipe with only a few minor adjustments. I cooked my quinoa with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1 TBSP of butter for 15 minutes. I left it on the stove (off the heat and covered) for 5 minutes before fluffing it with a fork. I then cooked my mushrooms with the dehydrated onion I had on hand and chopped garlic. I used a bit of bacon grease I had left over from morning breakfast. I de-glazed the pan with the chicken broth and let it cook down until it was nice and saucy before I added it and the cheese to the hot quinoa. I must say, while flavorful, this dish is missing something. What that something is, I don't know, but it needs more spice or something. I am going to add cooked zucchini and yellow squash next time, and maybe some rotisserie Chicken. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was ok. It needed more seasoning. I might give it another try and add something else to it. Maybe some basil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I loved this! Followed recipe exact- timing on Quinoa may just depend on how much liquid you like with yours. I enjoy a little bit of moisture but not soupy. I probably did mine for 15 and it was perfect! I'm eatting the leftovers now for lunch and it's still really tastey re-heated too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made this recipe as is except for using a 10 oz. package of mushrooms. When completed I took half of the mixture and added fresh spinach and cooked until it was wilted. The other half I left alone. I am surprised this recipe gets four stores as written. It is a very bland recipe. I would definitely add double the mushrooms and play around with some herbs. If you like plain foods without spices, you will probably like this. If you like more flavor, this recipe will probably not cut it for you. The half with the spinach was definitely better, but it still needed some other flavors to spice it up a bit. For those saying the mixture was too soupy, you need to cook the quinoa and chicken broth longer. I cooked mine for 20 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovelygrl222
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe overall. Although when the recipe states to simmer for 10 minutes the owner must have magical Quinoa since it takes just as long as rice (if not longer) to fully cook which took me about 25 minutes total. I am definitely cooking this again and will add things in such as celery, maybe squash as well to give it more flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelygrl222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was quick and easy--tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was very tasty and my husband and I enjoyed it. I do think it may have needed just a little more liquid because, even though I simmered on medium low, by the time the liquid was gone/absorbed, the "tails" had not completely come unfurled, which is the sign the quinoa is finished. That aside, this is a very easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States