Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Great meal! I added ground chicken to make it a more hearty main dish, added a little ground sage and cut way back on the onion to suit my tastes. Delicious - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
A great base recipe for quinoa. I simmered mine on low for 15 minutes and let it rest for 5 minutes covered- came out perfect. I added about 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce to the mushroom, onion and garlic saute and it really adds a ton of flavor. I've made this twice- once I added frozen peas for color and texture, the last time I added fresh spinach and a can of rinsed garbanzo beans. It was delicious both times. You really can add any veggies or beans to it. The Worcestershire sauce and fresh shredded Parmesan really make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is our new go-to side dish. I make a double batch... I divide the recipe when it's done and mix fresh spinach or a mixture of greens to mine. My husband has his stash in the fridge and I have mine. It lasts us most of the week. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Great healthy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It's wonderful! I was making it dairy free for a friend so I omitted the butter and added a bit more olive oil. Also, I was using leftover cooked quinoa I had made for cookies so it was not cooked in the broth. Still a great recipe. I topped it with fresh parsley and slivered almonds. I WILL make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a very good basic recipe- also this is my first to try quinoa. I cannot rate it a five star because I changed it a bit. I knew that when I read the ingredients, it will taste really great-- not overwhelming with so many ingredients that you won't enjoy the quinoa anymore. However, I did a little bit of change. I used dried shiitake mushrooms, (a lot) half a cup of frozen green peas, added a couple more garlic and lessen the broth to 2 1/2 cups. I did not have chicken broth, so I used the water that I soaked with the dried mushrooms and added half a chicken bullion. Followed the process but increased the final cooking of quinoa to about 15- 20 minutes at very low fire, stirring it from time to time. It is delicious! Wonderful recipe! You can add another veggie if you want more in there..definitely a winner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this last night, my hubby loved it. I added a handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half and about two cups of spinach that I needed to use up to the mushroom mixture. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Regina In Georgia
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is good and hearty. I didn't toast the quinoa. Next time, I would use water and skip the chicken broth, it overpowers the rest of the ingredients. I used baby portobello mushrooms, yum. 20 mins is closer to the time this has to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe, very flavourful. Next time I will add more mushrooms, since my finance loves them. Important change though, I had to cook the quinoa for about 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Some adjustment & it was great!! Used red quinoa which I cooked 20 min with only 2 1/2 c. chicken broth on medium. Added fresh pepper & garlic salt & 1/2 c. of fresh parmesan & 1/4 c. of fresh cilantro. Everything else was as recipe. LIKED so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States