Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of used dried minced garlic because I didn't have fresh. I found this to be bland and lacking flavor. I think that I will tweak it and make some changes the next time I make this. I like it as a basic recipe to build off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
My husband and I LOVE this recipe as is. We use very very low sodium chicken broth and its fine. Many friends who profess to HATE mushroom cannot pick them out of this dish, as I chop them very fine...and they LOVED the dish. That's a major surprise to all their friends who know they hate mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I've been making quinoa for years and wanted something a little different today. I subbed Earth Balance for the butter and left out the cheese due to dietary restrictions. I scaled the recipe back to two servings, and it still made a lot, and added about six ounces of cremini mushrooms. Although the flavour was very good I found that it didn't look very appetizing. Perhaps some fresh parsley added at the end would improve this. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Great meal! I added ground chicken to make it a more hearty main dish, added a little ground sage and cut way back on the onion to suit my tastes. Delicious - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
A great base recipe for quinoa. I simmered mine on low for 15 minutes and let it rest for 5 minutes covered- came out perfect. I added about 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce to the mushroom, onion and garlic saute and it really adds a ton of flavor. I've made this twice- once I added frozen peas for color and texture, the last time I added fresh spinach and a can of rinsed garbanzo beans. It was delicious both times. You really can add any veggies or beans to it. The Worcestershire sauce and fresh shredded Parmesan really make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is our new go-to side dish. I make a double batch... I divide the recipe when it's done and mix fresh spinach or a mixture of greens to mine. My husband has his stash in the fridge and I have mine. It lasts us most of the week. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Great healthy and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It's wonderful! I was making it dairy free for a friend so I omitted the butter and added a bit more olive oil. Also, I was using leftover cooked quinoa I had made for cookies so it was not cooked in the broth. Still a great recipe. I topped it with fresh parsley and slivered almonds. I WILL make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a very good basic recipe- also this is my first to try quinoa. I cannot rate it a five star because I changed it a bit. I knew that when I read the ingredients, it will taste really great-- not overwhelming with so many ingredients that you won't enjoy the quinoa anymore. However, I did a little bit of change. I used dried shiitake mushrooms, (a lot) half a cup of frozen green peas, added a couple more garlic and lessen the broth to 2 1/2 cups. I did not have chicken broth, so I used the water that I soaked with the dried mushrooms and added half a chicken bullion. Followed the process but increased the final cooking of quinoa to about 15- 20 minutes at very low fire, stirring it from time to time. It is delicious! Wonderful recipe! You can add another veggie if you want more in there..definitely a winner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this last night, my hubby loved it. I added a handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half and about two cups of spinach that I needed to use up to the mushroom mixture. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States