Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
As was already mentioned, after 10 minutes this recipe was still soupy. After 14 minutes or so, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
as written, it's a good base recipe - but there's just no wow factor. i love quinoa, i eat it all the time; and the onions and mushrooms were a nice addition...but it just needs "something" to bring it to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The quinoa needs to be cooked way longer. I leave it 13-15 minutes before taking off the lid and adding the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except for leaving out the parmesan cheese since I planned to use this as a rice substitute to serve with portabello mushroom gravy. I figured that since gravy is fattening enough, I should try to make a more nutritious side dish than white rice! We really enjoyed this dish, but next time I will add garlic salt and onion powder for a boost in flavor since quinoa tends to be a little blah sometimes. Thanks for a great recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was my first experience with quinoa and I must have browned the quinoa too much because it ended up tasting vaguely smoky, even though the quinoa never really browned. It was OK but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Okay well the thing is...I love quinoa, but something just isn't quite right with this recipe. I love the flavor of the toasted quinoa, delicious, and it cuts the cooking time quite a bit. The mushrooms were too much for me and my husband and without thickening the broth it is runny - maybe cut the liquid a bit? Also the dish really just ends up tasting like whatever broth you use and mushrooms. I love the idea and will fiddle with it to see if I can find something we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
REALLY good and so easy. A new fav in our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipes rocks! SO GOOD! My husband hates quinoa and loved this recipe, my 4 year old had a huge second helping. The only thing I changed was smart balance instead of butter, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Followed the recipe as written except I forgot to add the cheese at the end and it wasn't detremental to the taste. A nice change to the regular side dishes of rice and potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was my first recipe to try using quinoa and I really liked it (though I thought the cooked quinoa was a bit strange looking when it's cooked, I'm still trying not to look at it too much! haha...). I added some finely chopped celery and carrots, fresh spinach and mini baby vine tomatoes for colour. I didn't have any parmesan so I used a mature white cheddar and added a tiny bit of soy sauce and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States