Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really liked it. I sauteed some onions and added that, also sauteed the rest of the veggies and cooked the whole thing for a bit so it felt less like a salad. Might add some raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolas Galler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Didn't have tomatoes the first time I made this, but the lime gave it a fresh flavor. Also, quinoa can be kinda bland when cooked in water, so I will sometimes cook it in vegetable broth, or do as others suggested and ramp up the spices or add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very enjoyable. I added chopped mushrooms, extra tomato and an avocado (excellent addition). You definitely need more water than it lists, so keep an eye on the quinoa (I had to add water a few times). I prepared it by adding the mushrooms and garlic 5 minutes or so before the quinoa would be finished, then a couple of minutes later adding the chickpeas and cumin, then adding the tomato. Then I would cook off the water (which the tomatoes would add to the dish). Once the extra water was cooked off I added the parsley. Add the avocado to your individual dish rather than the pot (because avocadoes don't store very well for leftovers). I also found the hoisin sauce perfected the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We enjoy all of the ingredients and the end results are wonderful. I may try it with cilantro and red onions as suggested by Linda did for a variation. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
As written this is 3 stars. Use grape tomatoes cut in half, way more parsley, green onions and feta cheese. Then it is a 5 star one. I make this once a week at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I cooked quinoa in water with chicken bullion and omitted salt. I didn't have parsley, but my mint is taking over my garden so I used it. It was yummy. Very similar to tabouli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Excellent! I would add much more chick peas... Next day I made a frittata with leftovers adding an egg, cut up "pimientos de piquillo", lots of cilantro, a bit extra of salt and pepper. Using a pan, add a teaspoon of olive oil marinated with chili peppers, it gave it a delicious spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! Lots of flavor! My husband said he could eat it everyday! Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was just okay. Not super flavorful, as is. I'm sure it would be easy to dress up, as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
We had this twice in one week, it was good! My husband couldn't stop raving it about it the first time, and he begged me to make it again when we had company on the weekend. Because we prefer them, I used cannellini beans rather than garbanzo beans. The lime juice adds such a nice touch--I try to use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States