Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good! I used cilantro instead of parsley... great side dish! I served this with chipotle turkey meatloaf... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Everyone liked this dish and I served it to a wide range of people at dinner. I used fresh coriander rather than parsley as I had none on hand. I cooked the chickpeas and tomatoes in the quinoa for a bit to have the flavors meld. I cooked the quinoa in vegetable broth not water I used at least 3x the amount of cumin required and put in a pinch of red pepper. I kept tasting the dish saying it was tasteless and kept adding ground cumin until it registered. I'll make it again, very popular at my house, but 1/2 tsp cumin is not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was great. You could add any cooked veggie you wanted as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really liked it. I sauteed some onions and added that, also sauteed the rest of the veggies and cooked the whole thing for a bit so it felt less like a salad. Might add some raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolas Galler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Didn't have tomatoes the first time I made this, but the lime gave it a fresh flavor. Also, quinoa can be kinda bland when cooked in water, so I will sometimes cook it in vegetable broth, or do as others suggested and ramp up the spices or add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very enjoyable. I added chopped mushrooms, extra tomato and an avocado (excellent addition). You definitely need more water than it lists, so keep an eye on the quinoa (I had to add water a few times). I prepared it by adding the mushrooms and garlic 5 minutes or so before the quinoa would be finished, then a couple of minutes later adding the chickpeas and cumin, then adding the tomato. Then I would cook off the water (which the tomatoes would add to the dish). Once the extra water was cooked off I added the parsley. Add the avocado to your individual dish rather than the pot (because avocadoes don't store very well for leftovers). I also found the hoisin sauce perfected the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We enjoy all of the ingredients and the end results are wonderful. I may try it with cilantro and red onions as suggested by Linda did for a variation. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
As written this is 3 stars. Use grape tomatoes cut in half, way more parsley, green onions and feta cheese. Then it is a 5 star one. I make this once a week at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I cooked quinoa in water with chicken bullion and omitted salt. I didn't have parsley, but my mint is taking over my garden so I used it. It was yummy. Very similar to tabouli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Excellent! I would add much more chick peas... Next day I made a frittata with leftovers adding an egg, cut up "pimientos de piquillo", lots of cilantro, a bit extra of salt and pepper. Using a pan, add a teaspoon of olive oil marinated with chili peppers, it gave it a delicious spicy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States