Quinoa with Chicken, Asparagus and Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It was pretty good. I used snap peas and carrots instead of asparagus and red pepper and it was good. Made it with red quinoa and think it would be better with white. I followed some of the reviewers and sauted garlic and onion for flavor. It definitely helped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
We found this extremely bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was simply and quick. Like others, I added basil and oregano. I used asparagus, zucchini, celery and tomato. That's what I had and you can really throw anything into this. I also added 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, and 1 Tbsp rice vinegar because I like a "sauce". It was very good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This turned out really well. Was delicious. We even accidentally forgot the red peppers (which were a pretty big part of it) and it still tasted great. The next night we made a variation with the red pepper we forgot and pears, which was surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Pretty bland as written. I even took other reviewers suggestions and added some chopped onion, minced garlic, basil and garlic salt. Then it was okay. Healthy, but just okay tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was looking for a recipe containing these ingredients and found a winner!! I read all the reviews to see the tweaks and changes. I combined most of them-sautéed onion, garlic,added a little basil and salt; used the leftover chicken broth to poach my chicken breasts and cooked the quinoa in that. Finally, I sprinkled some feta cheese on top and it was so yummy!! Definitely will make this again and share the recipe with friends and family that want to eat healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The recipe was OK, but I made it a little healthier by cutting the mayo amount in half and substituting greek yogurt. Also, because I prefer a tarter tartar (ha ha) sauce, I use half sweet, half dill pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I like the base point of this recipe, but just by reading it felt that it lacked flavor. IMO it's not necessary to cook the quinoa in chicken broth. I cooked mine quickly in a rice cooker and then focused on adding more flavor to the stir fry. I started by sauteeing chopped onions, then added the asparagus and chicken. I also added button mushrooms I had lying around and some leftover cabbage kimchi. The kimchi was great and added a lot of tangy flavor. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was really good with a few add-ins, suggested by other reviewers. I added sauteed onion, garlic, basil and oregano. I also coooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puggysmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome! Let me begin by saying that my husband and I are not vegetarian, vegan, or even all that healthy of eaters (though I'm working to change that). I have never used quinoa before. As an experiment, I bought some red quinoa and tried this recipe. I used coconut oil (no flavor), cut up chicken thighs, and per some suggestions, some garlic, green onion, pepper, basil, oregano, and a pinch of sea salt. HOLY COW! It was so good, I was amazed, and the nutty flavor of quinoa reminded me a bit of Chinese flavoring (think Cashew Chicken). I am now a quinoa convert, as is my husband AND my 3 year old! Thanks, Kris!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States