Quinoa with Asian Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Good, flavorful and easy. The soy sauce flavor overpowers a bit, but this is a tasty way to make quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I love finding new ways to prepare quinoa, and this recipe is one that I really enjoyed. The only change I made was to use sesame oil rather than olive oil for that extra asian flavor. Some toasted peanuts or cashews would also give this dish some texture. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used bulgur instead of quinoa and it turned out semi-bland. I don't think there are strong enough flavors in the recipe to really pop, but it was a good starting point. I upped the soy sauce (low sodium), added hoisin sauce, and a whole head of steamed broccoli. I also added a little more ginger. Turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was fantastic! My husband and kids ate it up! Because some of the other reviews said this could be a bit salty I made one change - I used 2 cups of water and 1tsp of chicken boullion in place of the chicken brothIt was a perfect companion to teriyaki pork and asian salad. Used the leftovers, combined with some veggies and leftover pork to make a great salad. Great recipe - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Good. I used low sodium chix broth and soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is the go-to Quinoa recipe!!! I have tried probably a dozen quinoa recipes and this is hands down my favorite. The ginger and the soy sauce beautifully complement the flavor of the quinoa! You must use fresh ginger! If you have more than one type of quinoa available to you I recommend using the common lighter colored quinoa (looks off-white). We have a local farmer who grows multiple varieties so I mix 3/4 white quinoa and 1/4 red quinoa. The white absorbs the flavors better the red gives it a nice crunchy texture. If you buy it in the store, the red quinoa will not absorb the flavors as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Loved this one and so did my kids. A great variation to fried rice and a ton healthier. I made it with low-sodium soy sauce, more ginger (as suggested by another reviewer) and served it with Ma Po Tofu with Eggplant. It was delish. I felt like a vegetarian gourmet cook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a fantastic quinoa recipe. I follow the ingredients exactly except for the last 5 minutes, I throw in a cup of shelled edamame and and a cup diced green onion. I save out half of the green tops of the onion to add raw before chowing down! The first night I eat it hot, but it is even better the next day cold for lunch! It is similar to couscous only better. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was quite good! Definitely has nice flavour and I didn't change a thing, except to leave out the green onions as I didn't have any! Love quinoa, it's so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My family gave this a 5 star!!! I did add some minced carrot for color & texture and reduced the soy to 1 T (I did not have reduced sodium). I also rinsed the Quinoa as suggested. My boys loved it so much that they asked to take some along with my Asian pork to school for lunch tomorrow!! This is a definate keeper - Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States